Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast
Results 1 to 15 of 16

Thread: Hotlinkers Beware!

  1. #1
    Registered Member incka's Avatar
    Join Date
    Aug 2003
    Location
    Wakefield, UK, EU
    Posts
    3,801

    Cool Hotlinkers Beware!

    Lapoo.nl hotlinked a game on my one site which is still per mb bandwidth. It cost me 2.50 so I got my revenge! I used this .htaccess code:

    Code:
    RewriteEngine on
    RewriteCond %{HTTP_REFERER} !^$
    RewriteCond %{HTTP_REFERER} !^http://(www\.)?games2go.co.uk/.*$ [NC]
    RewriteCond %{HTTP_REFERER} !^http://(www\.)?games2go.co.uk.*$ [NC]
    RewriteCond %{HTTP_REFERER} !^http://(www\.)?3bgames.co.uk/.*$ [NC]
    RewriteCond %{HTTP_REFERER} !^http://(www\.)?3bgames.co.uk.*$ [NC]
    RewriteRule \.(swf|dcr)$ http://www.games2go.co.uk/lapoo.html [R,L]
    To make it have the game in a small frame from a per month bandwidth thing I have loads left on, and put loads of ads on for my site and for a ad network.

    I've got over 1250 banner impressions in 12 hours... Cool hey...

    The URL that hotlinked me is:

    http://www.lapoo.nl/couronne/

    You may wish to do something like this if someone hotlinks your site to get free advertising and money and to get back at them.

  2. #2
    mastermind michael_gersitz's Avatar
    Join Date
    Aug 2003
    Location
    Buffalo
    Posts
    749
    I like how you changed it from what is was before! Nice thinking...

    I doubt they will even realize it for a long time...

  3. #3
    Registered Member incka's Avatar
    Join Date
    Aug 2003
    Location
    Wakefield, UK, EU
    Posts
    3,801
    I know, I've made about $4 from fastclick already... I'm thinking of doing a feeds thing for online games sites to put the frames on which look like there site, but have ads on...

  4. #4
    mastermind michael_gersitz's Avatar
    Join Date
    Aug 2003
    Location
    Buffalo
    Posts
    749
    I would be happy with this.

    Do not try to much stuff...


    Log onto MSN...

  5. #5
    Registered Member incka's Avatar
    Join Date
    Aug 2003
    Location
    Wakefield, UK, EU
    Posts
    3,801
    It's not working ATM, other contacts:

    AIM: seanspurr (I think)
    ICQ: 335330801

  6. #6
    mastermind michael_gersitz's Avatar
    Join Date
    Aug 2003
    Location
    Buffalo
    Posts
    749
    what is ATM?

  7. #7
    Registered Member incka's Avatar
    Join Date
    Aug 2003
    Location
    Wakefield, UK, EU
    Posts
    3,801
    at the moment...

    MSN doesn't work alot of time...

  8. #8
    mastermind michael_gersitz's Avatar
    Join Date
    Aug 2003
    Location
    Buffalo
    Posts
    749
    Try restarting your computer...

  9. #9
    Registered Member incka's Avatar
    Join Date
    Aug 2003
    Location
    Wakefield, UK, EU
    Posts
    3,801
    I'll try...

    Get ICQ anyway, it's very useful...

  10. #10
    Registered Mike's Avatar
    Join Date
    May 2003
    Location
    UK
    Posts
    2,755
    I don't get how that works, seems like a good idea though. Could you explain please?
    Don't you just love free internet games ?

  11. #11
    Registered Member incka's Avatar
    Join Date
    Aug 2003
    Location
    Wakefield, UK, EU
    Posts
    3,801
    The restart didn't help, so if you want to chat you will have to get AIM or ICQ.

    I used .htaccess to stop them using an iframe on one of my files which was costing me bandwidth. I redirected them to a html file with ads on and the game on hostony servers, which i have about 59gb bandwidth a month spare on.

  12. #12
    Web Monkey MarkB's Avatar
    Join Date
    Nov 2003
    Location
    London, UK
    Posts
    1,783
    Get trillian
    Stepping On Wires - the new blog

  13. #13
    Registered Member incka's Avatar
    Join Date
    Aug 2003
    Location
    Wakefield, UK, EU
    Posts
    3,801
    Trillian?

    Is that something that combines all three?

  14. #14
    Registered Mike's Avatar
    Join Date
    May 2003
    Location
    UK
    Posts
    2,755
    Originally posted by incka
    The restart didn't help, so if you want to chat you will have to get AIM or ICQ.

    I used .htaccess to stop them using an iframe on one of my files which was costing me bandwidth. I redirected them to a html file with ads on and the game on hostony servers, which i have about 59gb bandwidth a month spare on.
    Very smart
    Don't you just love free internet games ?

  15. #15
    Registered Member incka's Avatar
    Join Date
    Aug 2003
    Location
    Wakefield, UK, EU
    Posts
    3,801
    Thank you Mike

    The amount of ads shown is getting higher now America is coming online

    Trillian is working for the other things, but MSN on it keeps logging in and out. It won't stay online.

Bookmarks

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •