Thread: Site has fallen off the Google/Yahoo radar!

Junior Registered

Site has fallen off the Google/Yahoo radar!

First -- I'm not a website designer. I'm a graphic designer. I
    designed my site, www.themenumaker.com, using Adobe PageMill. So while I know design -- I don't understand the ins-and-outs associated with web design.

What I do know is this -- my site always showed up in the top 3 listings under the search terms menu design, and restaurant menu design for 3 years, and it's suddenly disappeared!! This happened about 3 months ago, too -- at that time, I was told it may help to add more keywords to my source page. So I just copied all the terms used to find The Menu Maker from my web stats info! NOW I've been told that my site might be viewed as spam. I give up!! It's a legit site, offering a legit product!!

Any help would be appreciated!
    Jane, The Menu Maker

That's an interesting site you've got there MenuMaker.

Question - Why is there a line of text that is oh so close to the background color at the top of each page? It's very hard to ready and has that spamish look.

Hi Jane,

You actually rank 12 for "menu design." However, you've been dropped for "restaurant menu design".

Not sure why you've been dropped for that. There's loads of stuff you could do to better your position though. I'll only mention a couple for now...

- Decrease the number of words in your page title. Just focus on the important things you want people to find you for. I would change it to:

"Restaurant Menu Design - Specializing in Theme Menus."

That way, google will give more importance to the terms you do want to be found for.

Do you know what <h1> heading tags are? Your prog probably lists them as "heading" or something. You should use them and again include your important terms. For example:

<h1>Restaurant Menu Design - Specializing in Theme Menus</h1>

Again, this indicates to google that these are important terms and so you'll be likely to rank higher for them.