Thread: Any advice about hiring an onsite developer?

Any advice about hiring an onsite developer?

I'm not a programmer, and I can't keep up with all the stuff I need and want to do, so I'm thinking about hiring someone full-time or part-time. I actually went so far as to place an ad already, but the vast majority of the people wanted to telecommute, which I'm not interested in. I really want someone who works for me, like a 'real' employee. (I'm in San Francisco, by the way.)

I'm aware of [s]all[/s] many of the problems of employing people, so I'm not really looking for advice about going this route or contracting out, but I would consider going with a temp agency first, if only to get a feel for what it's like to work with a coder.

What I really want is someone to fix small things. For example, say I want to change WSP to WP sitewide. I would like to tell this person to take care of it for me. Or I need to make a local backup of a database, I'd want her or him to do it. I figure I'd need an employee for this kind of thing because I don't think many businesses would want to handle such tedious stuff.

Any ideas?

Website Developer
    I would say go with part time for basic stuff, and outsource someone offsite for everything else.

If you are looking for a full-time programmer you definately want to outsource unless your ready to burn some serious coin for just an average programmer in the United States. I'm in the process of getting a fully-managed programmer for $2500 a month, should have 5+ years experience. Given the locality thats still pricey but I was willing to pay extra for all of the background work and management the outsourcer does. I imagine in the US the same programmer would cost $6000-$7000 a month along with all of the other hassles involved, not to mention employment taxes and government regulatory compliance costs.