Results 1 to 3 of 3

Thread: changing domain names

  1. #1
    Learning All I Can izwar's Avatar
    Join Date
    Feb 2006
    Location
    Miami
    Posts
    384

    changing domain names

    how do i go about changing my site to another domain name, do i use a 301 redirect for the new name. and if so how do i do that ive never known how

  2. #2
    Site Contributor stymiee's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2004
    Location
    Between the Pipes
    Posts
    275
    You'll need to add the following lines of code to a file called .htaccess and place it in the root directory of the old domain:
    Code:
    RewriteEngine On
    RewriteCond %{HTTP_HOST} ^(www\.)?old-domain\.com$ [NC]
    RewriteRule ^(.*)$ http://www.new-domain.com/$1 [R=301,L]
    John Conde :: brainyminds
    Merchant Account Services -- Merchant Services Resources
    IT'S HERE: Integrate the Authorize.net Payment Gateway with PHP
    Everything you need to integrate Authorize.net into your website with PHP. Includes an explanation of how transactions work, validating credit cards, and the source code for free.

  3. #3
    Learning All I Can izwar's Avatar
    Join Date
    Feb 2006
    Location
    Miami
    Posts
    384
    thanks

Similar Threads

  1. Choosing effective Domain Name
    By Nikolayeva Vica in forum Domain Names
    Replies: 1
    Last Post: 02-07-2006, 06:26 PM
  2. Changing Domain Names
    By asphalt in forum Domain Names
    Replies: 3
    Last Post: 01-18-2006, 09:17 AM
  3. Changing Domain Names
    By asphalt in forum Domain Names
    Replies: 3
    Last Post: 04-22-2005, 01:01 PM
  4. Domain names question. Urgent!
    By aaandy in forum Domain Names
    Replies: 3
    Last Post: 07-04-2004, 04:13 AM
  5. Domain Names
    By HiddenVorlon in forum Search Engine Optimization
    Replies: 2
    Last Post: 09-13-2003, 12:50 PM

Bookmarks

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •