Thread: I decided to redesign my golf site...opinions?

I decided to redesign my golf site...opinions?

Well I guess like most designers, we're very rarely happy with our work, and I wasn't either with www.kentuckygolfing.com. I liked the design, but everything that I wanted to do with it, I couldn't. So I decided today to site down and design something else, more practical for my needs and not try to be so "web 2.0ish" (sorry I like those style sites) and just design something that will serve the purpose, yet hopefully is somewhat visually appealing.

Here is the design:

www.kentuckygolfing.com/kentuckygolfing.gif

Please let me know what you think as a comparison to my old design, as well as let me know what you think about the ad positions I've chosen. I tried to design this site with ad placement in mind, but since I'm still new to all of it, my placement might be terrible.

Thanks everyone.
    Last edited by deronsizemore; 08-03-2006 at 06:16 PM.

roughly the same design... the 2nd one just has that green bubble at the bottom?

In anycase, the adsense placement to the right of your logo is poor. That isn't a screen hotspot despite being at the top. Right below your logo would perform exponentially better. You could always put a CPM leaderboard from an ad network above your logo, or a 468 to the right of it.

The Adsense placement below the recent photos is awesome, BUT, change the fonts on all the links below it (that whole column) to bold. This'll make it blend in even more. More people should do placements like this. Sure, its a small unit, and with bigger units you get more ads, but these things can hide really well.

You have room for 2 more adsense placements, I'd do this:

1. 468 right above recent forum discussions, try mixing it up and match the link color green (to match the recent posts above it) instead of blue.

2. Your adlink unit, in the central column between recent posts & recent comments