Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast
Results 1 to 15 of 25

Thread: Drop Downs...

  1. #1
    Registered Mike's Avatar
    Join Date
    May 2003
    Location
    UK
    Posts
    2,755

    Drop Downs...

    Hi guys,

    I would like to put a drop down menu on my site (a form one), which has links in. Would anyone be kind enough to tell me how to do this, and how to do it so the links are seen by search engines?

    Thanks,
    Mike
    Don't you just love free internet games ?

  2. #2
    Administrator Chris's Avatar
    Join Date
    Feb 2003
    Location
    East Lansing, MI USA
    Posts
    7,055
    The links would not be seen by search engines at all. You'd need to make normal HTML links and stick them in noscript tags.

    To make the actual form menu itself you need to use a little bit of javascript and the onchange event handler. Look at such a menu on a current site to see how they do it.
    Chris Beasley - My Guide to Building a Successful Website[size=1]
    Content Sites: ABCDFGHIJKLMNOP|Forums: ABCD EF|Ecommerce: Swords Knives

  3. #3
    Registered Mike's Avatar
    Join Date
    May 2003
    Location
    UK
    Posts
    2,755
    Hi Chris,

    I've found out how to make the actual form menu, but not sure what you mean by your noscript tags? Do I just place <noscript> around the <select> tags?

    Thanks
    Mike
    Don't you just love free internet games ?

  4. #4
    Administrator Chris's Avatar
    Join Date
    Feb 2003
    Location
    East Lansing, MI USA
    Posts
    7,055
    No, make HTML links and put <noscript> around them.
    Chris Beasley - My Guide to Building a Successful Website[size=1]
    Content Sites: ABCDFGHIJKLMNOP|Forums: ABCD EF|Ecommerce: Swords Knives

  5. #5
    Registered Mike's Avatar
    Join Date
    May 2003
    Location
    UK
    Posts
    2,755
    Sorry, but I can't get my head around this...

    I have:

    Code:
    <body>
    <SELECT NAME="menu" onchange="location.href = this.options[this.selectedIndex].value" size="1">
    <noscript><a href="http://www.templatestorm.com>My Site</a></noscript>
    </SELECT>
    That doesn't work, but I don't know how else to. I don't see where the <option> tags go either?

    Thanks,
    Mike
    Don't you just love free internet games ?

  6. #6
    Administrator Chris's Avatar
    Join Date
    Feb 2003
    Location
    East Lansing, MI USA
    Posts
    7,055
    No... you have two different things.

    1. Make the select menu, this involves no <noscript> tags at all.

    2. Make a plain text menu inside noscript tags since search engines can't use javascript in the form menu.
    Chris Beasley - My Guide to Building a Successful Website[size=1]
    Content Sites: ABCDFGHIJKLMNOP|Forums: ABCD EF|Ecommerce: Swords Knives

  7. #7
    Registered Mike's Avatar
    Join Date
    May 2003
    Location
    UK
    Posts
    2,755
    Ok Chris, I think i've done it but not quite sure...

    Code:
    <SELECT NAME="menu" onchange="location.href = this.options[this.selectedIndex].value" size="1">
    <option>Websites</option>
    <option value="http://www.websitepublisher.net">Website Publisher</option>
    <option value="http://www.sitepoint.com">Sitepoint</option>
    <noscript><a href="http://www.websitepublisher.net">Website Publisher</a></noscript>
    <noscript><a href="http://www.sitepoint.com">Sitepoint</a></noscript>
    </SELECT>
    Is this right? And if it is, it's not against any search engine rules is it?

    Thanks,
    Mike
    Don't you just love free internet games ?

  8. #8
    Administrator Chris's Avatar
    Join Date
    Feb 2003
    Location
    East Lansing, MI USA
    Posts
    7,055
    You don't need to put the <noscript> things within the select tags. Bu tthat should work yes.
    Chris Beasley - My Guide to Building a Successful Website[size=1]
    Content Sites: ABCDFGHIJKLMNOP|Forums: ABCD EF|Ecommerce: Swords Knives

  9. #9
    Registered Mike's Avatar
    Join Date
    May 2003
    Location
    UK
    Posts
    2,755
    Chris,

    When I don't put the noscript tags within the select ones, the links show. So I think I will stick with that.

    Thanks for all help etc...

    Mike
    Don't you just love free internet games ?

  10. #10
    Administrator Chris's Avatar
    Join Date
    Feb 2003
    Location
    East Lansing, MI USA
    Posts
    7,055
    The links should only be showing if you have JS turned off.
    Chris Beasley - My Guide to Building a Successful Website[size=1]
    Content Sites: ABCDFGHIJKLMNOP|Forums: ABCD EF|Ecommerce: Swords Knives

  11. #11
    Registered Mike's Avatar
    Join Date
    May 2003
    Location
    UK
    Posts
    2,755
    I will just put them in the <select> tags, I take it this will work. If it won't would you reply?

    Thanks very much for all the help,
    Mike
    Don't you just love free internet games ?

  12. #12
    Administrator Chris's Avatar
    Join Date
    Feb 2003
    Location
    East Lansing, MI USA
    Posts
    7,055
    It'll work for SE's
    Chris Beasley - My Guide to Building a Successful Website[size=1]
    Content Sites: ABCDFGHIJKLMNOP|Forums: ABCD EF|Ecommerce: Swords Knives

  13. #13
    Registered Mike's Avatar
    Join Date
    May 2003
    Location
    UK
    Posts
    2,755
    Ok, thanks for all help Chris.
    Don't you just love free internet games ?

  14. #14
    Registered Mike's Avatar
    Join Date
    May 2003
    Location
    UK
    Posts
    2,755
    Bringing back an old topic...

    I am using PHP Include to have this in my site. That won't matter will it?

    Thanks a lot,
    Mike
    Don't you just love free internet games ?

  15. #15
    Administrator Chris's Avatar
    Join Date
    Feb 2003
    Location
    East Lansing, MI USA
    Posts
    7,055
    nope... php is server side.
    Chris Beasley - My Guide to Building a Successful Website[size=1]
    Content Sites: ABCDFGHIJKLMNOP|Forums: ABCD EF|Ecommerce: Swords Knives

Similar Threads

  1. table drop downs ?? :s
    By k0r54 in forum HTML, CSS, Layout, and Design
    Replies: 3
    Last Post: 11-20-2003, 09:44 PM
  2. Drop Downs?
    By Mike in forum Graphics & Multimedia
    Replies: 8
    Last Post: 11-06-2003, 04:04 PM

Bookmarks

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •