Results 1 to 15 of 15

Thread: How much memory?

  1. #1
    Registered Mike's Avatar
    Join Date
    May 2003
    Location
    UK
    Posts
    2,755

    How much memory?

    Hi all,

    I'm looking to buy one of Dell's XPS laptops. However, I'm not quite sure how much RAM to get. For the model I'm looking at you can have anywhere between 512mb and 4gb! I'm thinking of 1024, but will this be enough? I need this laptop to last a while, and with software developing quickly, will future programs be able to run smoothly on 1024mb memory?

    What's everyone think?

    Cheers,
    Mike
    Don't you just love free internet games ?

  2. #2
    Senior Member agua's Avatar
    Join Date
    Sep 2005
    Location
    Pottsville, NSW
    Posts
    531
    I'd go for as much as you can afford - you can never have enough RAM
    I Do Website Design - but I am here to learn all about publishing

  3. #3
    Is Still Alive! Johnny Gulag's Avatar
    Join Date
    Feb 2006
    Location
    North Texas
    Posts
    242
    I've got a gig and it works for me, but as Aqua mentioned above you can never have too much. The comp I've got will allow for 4 gigs as well, if I ever get the spare money around I might add more.

  4. #4
    4x4
    Join Date
    Oct 2004
    Posts
    1,043
    You`ll be fine with 1gb... anymore from dell and they will rape you. Get 1gb if you need more get it from the egg.

  5. #5
    Administrator Chris's Avatar
    Join Date
    Feb 2003
    Location
    East Lansing, MI USA
    Posts
    7,049
    In addition to not needing more than 1024, if you did need more in the future, RAM is the easiest thing on a laptop to upgrade.
    Chris Beasley - My Guide to Building a Successful Website[size=1]
    Content Sites: ABCDFGHIJKLMNOP|Forums: ABCD EF|Ecommerce: Swords Knives

  6. #6
    Web Monkey MarkB's Avatar
    Join Date
    Nov 2003
    Location
    London, UK
    Posts
    1,783
    1gb will do you fine. My new Qosmio only has half a gig, and it runs lovely.
    Stepping On Wires - the new blog

  7. #7
    Registered Mike's Avatar
    Join Date
    May 2003
    Location
    UK
    Posts
    2,755
    Looks like 1 gig it is then

    If I did want to upgrade, is it much hassle to get Dell to do it for me?

    Cheers for all the responses guys.
    Don't you just love free internet games ?

  8. #8
    Registered
    Join Date
    Feb 2005
    Posts
    85
    i'm with 2gigs and don't think it is too much...

  9. #9
    Senior Member chromate's Avatar
    Join Date
    Aug 2003
    Location
    UK
    Posts
    2,348
    Dell charge stupid amounts for their RAM. If you need lots of RAM it's best to just buy it elsewhere and install it yourself. There's literally nothing more to it than just plugging it in.

    In general 1GB should do you fine. I have half a gig in my laptop and don't have any problems using photoshop / illustrator with fairly big files.

  10. #10
    Registered *infin8's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jul 2006
    Posts
    11
    I dont think you will utilize the full 1024.. I have 1gb DDR555 - old stuff - and my PC handles a few big applications with ease

    3DMax, Photoshop, Flash, DW etc
    Charl Norman
    -
    1~2~3~4~5~6~7

  11. #11
    Registered
    Join Date
    Mar 2006
    Location
    Vancouver
    Posts
    37
    i'd go with the 512MB-1GB. most companies selling computers sell their base unit under cost and hugely make up for it on upgrades and shipping. i used to work for a PC manufacturer and we sold to big box stores across north america. it disgusted me that they sold their upgrades at prices hugely inflated over what it cost to buy parts off their shelves, not to mention, they didn't subtract the cost of the part that was removed (if any) for the upgrade!

  12. #12
    Registered Mike's Avatar
    Join Date
    May 2003
    Location
    UK
    Posts
    2,755
    The problem with installing it myself would be the warranty. I've a feeling it would be voided wouldn't it?
    Don't you just love free internet games ?

  13. #13
    Web Monkey MarkB's Avatar
    Join Date
    Nov 2003
    Location
    London, UK
    Posts
    1,783
    Check their warranty, I wouldn't think so.
    Stepping On Wires - the new blog

  14. #14
    Registered
    Join Date
    Mar 2006
    Location
    Vancouver
    Posts
    37
    it shouldn't be. the system warranty might but the parts within the system won't be. most people buy computers and get a 'one year warranty' without realizing that each part in the computer is under warranty as well, some one year, others three years.

  15. #15
    Registered
    Join Date
    Apr 2006
    Posts
    184
    No, it shouldn't void your warrenty.... unless you're this guy:

    Friend: Just had a guy bring a laptop in. He was trying to put more memory in it.
    Friend: He pulled the fan assembly out.
    Me: I can sort of see where this is going.
    Friend: When you do that you pull the processor too because of the heatsink gel.
    Friend: He replaced the fan without first replacing the processor... put it all back in together....
    Friend: bent many of the pins on the processor... no way to straighten them.
    Me: LOL, poor guy...
    Friend: The funny thing is he didn't need to remove the fan assembly at all.
    Friend: He was sitting there looking at the memory slot as he removed the fan assembly.

Similar Threads

  1. memory foam mattresses
    By bbolte in forum General Chat
    Replies: 15
    Last Post: 04-14-2006, 08:32 PM

Bookmarks

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •