Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Thread: Stupid question time!

Registered

Stupid question time!

Hi everyone, i'm new here. Was wondering if someone could shed some light for me. I'm not rich and was wondering how to go about buying domain names. Not ones that are expireing etc, but just names that havent already been used. Example, say business.com was available and I just parked it for $8.00 at go-daddy. Eventually, just the name would be worth money no?

I've typed in a thousand names I thought would be money making domain names and they were all taken. If I type one in at some point and it happens to be available, is it worth buying it just to park? I'm not a web designer and know nothing about how everyone is going about this game. Thanks for any insight.

Rob............

Is it worth it to buy something that is worth more than what you paid for it? Yes.

Will you find any really good names like business.com? No. You're 10 years too late for the prom for that.
    Chris Beasley - My Guide to Building a Successful Website[size=1]
    Content Sites: ABCDFGHIJKLMNOP|Forums: ABCD EF|Ecommerce: Swords Knives

Registered
    Thanks Chris, yeah I kinda knew that. I'm just wanting to invest a very small amount of money into something. Not really for a quick turnaround, maybe even long term. How about useing popular american domain names and useing them in spanish or other foreign languages? Am I onto something here or still way behind the times wasteing my own?

Thanks again,
    Rob......

Site Contributor
    I'd spend your money elsewhere.

Registered
    Quote Originally Posted by Shawn
    I'd spend your money elsewhere.

Why do you say that? Why are all of you here?

Quote Originally Posted by clueless
    Why do you say that? Why are all of you here?

I can't speak for the others, but I am here because this forum is full of successful, professional, and honest business people who can help each other find solutions to real business concerns.
    Linda Jenkinson