Results 1 to 7 of 7

Thread: Splitting PR on internal links to homepage?

  1. #1
    Chronic Entrepreneur
    Join Date
    Nov 2003
    Location
    Tulsa, Oklahoma, USA
    Posts
    1,112

    Splitting PR on internal links to homepage?

    First I'd like to say thanks to Chris/Aspen for all of the great advice that you give both here and at sitepoint. I've learned more correct info about SEO searching for your posts here and at sitepoint than anywhere else.

    I have a vbulletin 3 b7 forum. The main page of the forum is at www.mysite.com/index.php . All external links to my site go to www.mysite.com . Vbulletin, however, seems to be coded in such a way that my internal links to the main page range between

    www.mysite.com/
    www.mysite.com/index.php
    www.mysite.com/index.php?

    Google toolbar shows the following PR:

    www.mysite.com/ -- PR=5
    www.mysite.com/index.php -- PR=4
    www.mysite.com/index.php? -- PR=3

    Will my pagerank really be split between these 3 URLs for the same page? Would it help my PR to wrestle vB into always linking to www.mysite.com ?

    Also, when searching for my target search terms, www.mysite.com/index.php comes up Waaaay above www.mysite.com . When directly typing the URLs into the browser address bar, google toolbar shows the following PR:

    www.mysite.com -- PR=5
    www.mysite.com/index.php -- PR=4

    When clicking on the links in google results, the toolbar shows:
    www.mysite.com -- Not currently ranked
    www.mysite.com/index.php -- PR=4

    www.mysite.com/index.php has NO external links going to it. www.nsuforum.com has only the external link from vbulletin.com's forum listing page.

    I know the toolbar can be screwy sometimes, but this has been consistent for the last week. What's going on?

  2. #2
    Registered
    Join Date
    Nov 2003
    Posts
    100
    yes it will help to somehow managing to get all links to be the same. stick with your highest one, and try to make all the links consistant to that, because otherwise pr will be split.

  3. #3
    Administrator Chris's Avatar
    Join Date
    Feb 2003
    Location
    East Lansing, MI USA
    Posts
    7,048
    Consistency is always good. Google doesn't always split PR though, sometimes they're smart enough to realize it is the same page.

    Still -- better safe than sorry.
    Chris Beasley - My Guide to Building a Successful Website[size=1]
    Content Sites: ABCDFGHIJKLMNOP|Forums: ABCD EF|Ecommerce: Swords Knives

  4. #4
    Chronic Entrepreneur
    Join Date
    Nov 2003
    Location
    Tulsa, Oklahoma, USA
    Posts
    1,112
    Thanks guys. I really appreciate the help.

    Any ideas on why the toobar shows different PR when I click on a google link to my site and when I type in the exact same URL to my site?

  5. #5
    Administrator Chris's Avatar
    Join Date
    Feb 2003
    Location
    East Lansing, MI USA
    Posts
    7,048
    the toolbar can be buggy and unreliable at times -- especially lately.
    Chris Beasley - My Guide to Building a Successful Website[size=1]
    Content Sites: ABCDFGHIJKLMNOP|Forums: ABCD EF|Ecommerce: Swords Knives

  6. #6
    mastermind michael_gersitz's Avatar
    Join Date
    Aug 2003
    Location
    Buffalo
    Posts
    749
    Yeah, the toolbar always displays different results for me...


    Recently "wwwmysite.com" and "mysite.com" displayed the results....

  7. #7
    Junior Registered Mayet's Avatar
    Join Date
    Nov 2003
    Location
    Australia
    Posts
    8
    Thanks for that answer. I was experimenting with the exact same thing...

    It also depends on what datacentre you get as to what ranking you will get, as the update has started again..espec with the google directory..bout time...

    you may click now and you may be polling results from one data centre and click five minutes later to pull results from another.. this seems epecially true at the moment as it has all started moving again and results and rankings are all over the place.

Similar Threads

  1. Replies: 11
    Last Post: 09-24-2016, 11:36 PM
  2. How do add links to an affiliate laden site?
    By Echievements in forum Advertising & Affiliate Programs
    Replies: 2
    Last Post: 12-19-2003, 05:19 PM
  3. Internal linking
    By emke in forum Search Engine Optimization
    Replies: 11
    Last Post: 11-28-2003, 12:06 PM
  4. How many links are too much?
    By emke in forum Search Engine Optimization
    Replies: 15
    Last Post: 11-26-2003, 07:34 PM
  5. back links
    By darkstonexa in forum Search Engine Optimization
    Replies: 13
    Last Post: 11-12-2003, 07:56 AM

Bookmarks

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •