Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Thread: taxes

taxes

alright im new to all this, although I am exempt from taxes right now (under 18) I still need to know how it works.

Ok so I am to recieve my first check from google in a month I will cash that in, now how would the government know that I am earning money from the internet, will I have to contact someone? Will I be sent some sort of tax reciept from the gov. asking for the tax money?

Which country are you in?
    Chris Beasley - My Guide to Building a Successful Website[size=1]
    Content Sites: ABCDFGHIJKLMNOP|Forums: ABCD EF|Ecommerce: Swords Knives

im in canada

I doubt you are exempt. Unless you make under a certain amount in the financial year.
    New website released. ya rly!

I'm the oogie boogie man! James's Avatar
    You are most certainly not exempt till you're 18. A friend of mine was being taxed at 11 years old.

But you only need to declare it if it's over a certain amount, or something along those lines.

If it's the same sort of system as here, you get a tax free threshold. Ours is around the 6k mark I think(?). Even if you don't earn over that amount, you may still be required to report the money you made and how you made it.

If I were you, I would speak to an accountant. They don't cost much these days

ok fine if im not excemp, can someone answer my question?

Quote Originally Posted by thebillionaire
    ...can someone answer my question?
    An accountant is probably your best bet. Do your parents have one you can speak to? Or someone you know?

no, but I was asking you uys because you guys pay taxes. I just wanna know if the gov sends like a form or something asking for the tax money

Chronic Entrepreneur
    You'll probably want to wait for an answer from a Canadian since what applies to people in other countries won't necessarily apply to you.