Thread: PR is important?

PR is important?

when the PR is high, what does it means?
    http://www.py168.com
    http://www.cncolor.net
    i am a chinaese webmaster, can you be my friends?

PR = page rank.

You usually have high PR if you have alot of incoming links and bookmarks. Basically, the seach engines see high PR as an indicator that you have a popular site with some good content (otherise people wouldnt link to you)

Thats the basic expanation.

to check the pagerank of a page go here: http://www.pagerank.net/

PR is Google's measure of a page's importance. It is calculated for each page using a formula which takes into account the links from other pages pointing to the page. (Bookmarks don't actually make any difference to PR) And it is only used by Google, and is just one small part of how they rank a particular page for a certain search term.

Also it stands for PageRank after Lawrence Page it's creator. It is a proper noun.

People often confuse it with your page's rank (ie the position of your page in the search engines).
    Chris Beasley - My Guide to Building a Successful Website[size=1]
    Content Sites: ABCDFGHIJKLMNOP|Forums: ABCD EF|Ecommerce: Swords Knives

Quote Originally Posted by Chris
    Also it stands for PageRank after Lawrence Page it's creator. It is a proper noun. People often confuse it with your page's rank (ie the position of your page in the search engines).
    Although this is the origin of the term, if there was no awareness of how it would be applied then it is an incredible coincidence that it actually measures the ranking of a page in terms of the relative value of that page over others.