Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast
Results 1 to 15 of 18

Thread: Yahoo indexing RSS

  1. #1
    Administrator Chris's Avatar
    Join Date
    Feb 2003
    Location
    East Lansing, MI USA
    Posts
    7,048

    Yahoo indexing RSS

    http://search.yahoo.com/search?p=del...265&fl=0&x=wrt

    See #5 result.

    Any idea how to get Yahoo to pickup your RSS feed like that?

    I'm thinking about adding RSS to my coupon site, but also this forum already has it and it isn't listed if you search for "Website publisher forum"
    Chris Beasley - My Guide to Building a Successful Website[size=1]
    Content Sites: ABCDFGHIJKLMNOP|Forums: ABCD EF|Ecommerce: Swords Knives

  2. #2
    Web Monkey MarkB's Avatar
    Join Date
    Nov 2003
    Location
    London, UK
    Posts
    1,783
    You need to make the RSS feed detectable (like blogs do, for example).

    Example, in your header have:

    Code:
    <link rel="alternate" type="application/rss+xml" title="RSS 2.0" href="http://www.domain.com/index.xml" />
    Stepping On Wires - the new blog

  3. #3
    Gimme Fries with that!
    Join Date
    Aug 2004
    Posts
    1,469
    That is very cool..... have you tried the code you posted Mark? I may be trying it myself

  4. #4
    Web Monkey MarkB's Avatar
    Join Date
    Nov 2003
    Location
    London, UK
    Posts
    1,783
    It's what's on my blog - no idea if Yahoo indexes it though LOL But it's how spiders find it (or one way, anyway).
    Stepping On Wires - the new blog

  5. #5
    Gimme Fries with that!
    Join Date
    Aug 2004
    Posts
    1,469
    New question Can the spider not index it via looking at regular links... ie bottom of the text of this article I have an XML and a yahoo link. Is the xml link coo for the search spidering it?

    http://www.moviesonline.ca/movienews_4992.html

  6. #6
    Web Monkey MarkB's Avatar
    Join Date
    Nov 2003
    Location
    London, UK
    Posts
    1,783
    Your server is responding too slow for me
    Stepping On Wires - the new blog

  7. #7
    Gimme Fries with that!
    Join Date
    Aug 2004
    Posts
    1,469
    yeah sorry it actually just had a heart attack.. load issue. I restarted it just now

  8. #8
    Administrator Chris's Avatar
    Join Date
    Feb 2003
    Location
    East Lansing, MI USA
    Posts
    7,048
    still slow for me...upgrade time?
    Chris Beasley - My Guide to Building a Successful Website[size=1]
    Content Sites: ABCDFGHIJKLMNOP|Forums: ABCD EF|Ecommerce: Swords Knives

  9. #9
    Administrator Chris's Avatar
    Join Date
    Feb 2003
    Location
    East Lansing, MI USA
    Posts
    7,048
    Well I added that code to the forum here, so we'll see if it picks up the forum RSS with the next update.
    Chris Beasley - My Guide to Building a Successful Website[size=1]
    Content Sites: ABCDFGHIJKLMNOP|Forums: ABCD EF|Ecommerce: Swords Knives

  10. #10
    Gimme Fries with that!
    Join Date
    Aug 2004
    Posts
    1,469
    odd that its slow... yeah it may very well be time for an upgrade.. my end it loads in less then a second. Box is not sitting in my room either :P Its in the US.

  11. #11
    Web Monkey MarkB's Avatar
    Join Date
    Nov 2003
    Location
    London, UK
    Posts
    1,783
    Chris, nice one. Firefox is showing the RSS icon for it now, too.
    Stepping On Wires - the new blog

  12. #12
    Gimme Fries with that!
    Join Date
    Aug 2004
    Posts
    1,469
    Mark I added your code to my news page.. i linked it to the RSS for my latest news http://www.moviesonline.ca/movienews_4995.html seems like it worked.

    I didnt design my site for firefox so I am progressively improving the site for firefox users... do alot of people know about the RSS feature?

  13. #13
    Registered Member moonshield's Avatar
    Join Date
    Aug 2004
    Location
    Charlotte
    Posts
    1,281
    a way to do it is to ping Yahoo via xml_rpc http://api.my.yahoo.com/RPC2 , this tells Yahoo that your site has been updated. You can also do this with MSN somehow.

    I set up a little test site doing that and it got indexed within 24 hours with no backlinks.
    Last edited by moonshield; 07-29-2005 at 11:32 AM.

  14. #14
    Gimme Fries with that!
    Join Date
    Aug 2004
    Posts
    1,469
    i would be interested in seeing the code you did that with if you dont mind....

  15. #15
    Registered Member moonshield's Avatar
    Join Date
    Aug 2004
    Location
    Charlotte
    Posts
    1,281
    I Just used a blogging platform, plog seems to be quite effective.

Similar Threads

  1. Can a Content Site Afford a Yahoo Directory Listing
    By Chris in forum Advertising & Affiliate Programs
    Replies: 45
    Last Post: 08-09-2005, 06:07 AM
  2. Content is NOT king.
    By nohaber in forum Search Engine Optimization
    Replies: 9
    Last Post: 08-17-2004, 05:21 PM
  3. Anyone know about Yahoo?
    By Jaffro in forum Search Engine Optimization
    Replies: 6
    Last Post: 05-10-2004, 06:29 AM
  4. New content boost on Yahoo!?
    By r2d2 in forum Search Engine Optimization
    Replies: 9
    Last Post: 04-22-2004, 12:59 PM
  5. Does/Did Yahoo flag paid inclusions to its directory?
    By Apollo in forum Search Engine Optimization
    Replies: 3
    Last Post: 12-27-2003, 08:41 AM

Bookmarks

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •