Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Thread: My newest site is doing very well -- here are a few tips

Website Developer

My newest site is doing very well -- here are a few tips

I launched a new site at the beggining of the month (plus about 4 others ). By far, this site has done very well. It is averaging about $7 a day on Adsense. This makes me very happy considering I have sites that I worked weeks to build and ended up averaging $1 for months.

Additionally, my opt-in e-mail list is at 63 subscribers. This is almost shocking to me as my other "flagship" e-mail list is only at 126 opt-ins and I've been running it for just under 3 months.

Here are a few tips that have taken me a year to learn:

- Keep things simple, everything should be on your pages for a reason, but never overcrowd it.

- Target your site. There are millions of hobbies, niches, products, etc. out there. The world economy is trillions and trillions of dollars every year. People are buying lots of stuff. Think about these niches that other people are missing.

- Don't be afraid to test out wild new ideas. One of my sites I made a few months back I made the design as amateur as I could -- "cute" font, rainbow colors, etc. Its doing pretty good.

- Look at what other people's sites are, but don't copy them. Competative markets usually have lots of ad money available but it is going to be very hard for you to get your slice.

- Read blogs, marketingSherpa, and other relevant sites & articles. They may not directly relate to running advertising sites

- Be active on forums, but don't go overboard. When I started I spent 90% of my time on webmaster boards. Once I was able to filter the good stuff from the BS I started to get somewhere. I was able to filter out the BS because I was testing things myself.