Thread: Optimizing CPM revenue

Chronic Entrepreneur

Optimizing CPM revenue

As most of you know, I'm relatively new to using CPM ads on my sites. I'm currently using Casale ads as my primary and sending defaults to Fastclick. I've been looking at ways to optimize my revenue from both companies rather than just letting my primary agency exhaust all of their ads and then giving all of the leftovers to the secondary agency.

OK, try to stay with me here... From what I've observed, it seems as if each day these companies show the highest-paying ads available for the visitor's country first, then move down to lower paying ads, then when they don't have any more ads available for that particular visitor they serve defaults. The result of this is that each day your average eCPM starts out high as the highest-paying ads are served and then gradually drops as lower paying ads are served that bring down the overall eCPM.

For example, let's say that I've experimented and found that Company #1 pays me a higher overall CPM than Company #2, So I use Company #1 for my primary ads. However, at a certain point in the day, Company #1 has used up all of it's higher-paying ads and is now serving ads with a lower CPM than I could get from Company #2. The trick then, is to find the "sweet spot" where I need to cut off Company #1's ads in favor of Company #2's.

Casale has an option that you can set for each ad type that allows you to only serve ads that pay at least x eCPM. If it doesn't have an ad to serve that pays at least that minimum CPM it defaults to your secondary company. What I've been doing is experimenting with different numbers for that minimum CPM to see which gives me the best overall CPM between the two companies.

Any comments on the pros and cons of this method? What strategies do all of you use to maximize revenue between multiple ad companies?

Chronic Entrepreneur