Thread: Quick listing in Google, Yahoo etc by starting a blog

Quick listing in Google, Yahoo etc by starting a blog

This may be old news but I have not seen it anywhere (may be I didn't look hard enough) plus I'm a NOOB.

I was considering putting a blog on my site to add news content and installed WordPress. I put in a dummy article and set about trying to figure out how to customise the template to fit my site got distracted and went off to learn more about CSS.

I checked my stats a week later and found that by adding an article WordPress pings some blog sites (as most blog programs probably do). It seems most of the SE spiders check these sites very often and come looking for your site.

End result my new site listed in Google and Yahoo in less than 3 days or may be sooner.

This is good because I don't have any friends with high PR ranks to link to, am too embarrassed to put my feeble efforts in my signature and for one of the sites would not welcome any potential competition until established. [thanks to Shawn for triggering my paranoia ]

I was going to mention this at some stage but a newsletter I subscribe to just published something similar so I thought I'd post my findings here.

Plus my previous site was submitted to G and Y a month before the new site and this way is much faster.

Hope this was of interest.

Regards
    David

Junior Registered
    I need help....really need help...I'm educated...a usually pretty good
    but I feel like I'm reading greek and just don't understand how to get a good ranking for my new website platform. I've tried the "too good to be true" stuff...tested it out and it was NOT what they promised and I wasted a lot of money.
    What is a blog...can someone help me....PLEASE
    Cindy
    cindy99@hotmail.com

Junior Registered

Please help me BLog I have a new website.....SOS cindy99@hotmail.com

Quote Originally Posted by Billyray