Page 1 of 4 1234 LastLast

Thread: 1 year to go!

Registered

1 year to go!

OK....here's the score.....

Presently, I work in IT as a Release Manager. In Jan 06 I will be made redundant

The challenge is to make enough money to sustain my morgage and general living expenses each month by the time I am made redundant and I have 1 year, 2 months to do it in!!

Could anyone advise the best approach to do this? Do I, create say 10 good basic sites straight off get them up on the search engines with basic content, back links and PR and then go back and up content and feature etc afterwards? OR....

Do I complete one site at a time to a high standard and just update and tweak it when and where?

Also, I presently use wordtracker.com to decide on what is or isn't a good search term or site idea to use? Is this right or are there other search engine statistical sites that could assist with this?

Obviously, I know there are no quick fire solutions hence why I'm starting to build on this with a year and 2 months to go...also I'm very new to all this, not sure where to start really???

Any help would be brill!!!!

Cheers,

Cat

I'm the oogie boogie man! James's Avatar
    It's smart to go for several websites which bring in a little money each, if you want stability.

Many people tend to pour a lot of their time into sites when they first create them, if that's any help--though I'm sure that Chris has more experience with what's better than me, because I only develop one site at a time, and while it's in developement my other sites seem to suffer a bit.

I would highly suggest not making small sites, only making very large content sites. Examples of these are Chris' Literature and Survival ones, Icebane's Survival one, Chromate's carb counter, My URGames and Lyrics one, And two people's movie ones.

Make a few big content sites and you should be set. Pour as much time (and money for other to write for you) into it as possible.

how many pages makes a site a 'big' site?