Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast
Results 1 to 15 of 24

Thread: Server #5.

  1. #1
    Administrator Chris's Avatar
    Join Date
    Feb 2003
    Location
    East Lansing, MI USA
    Posts
    7,048

    Server #5.

    I just bought a fifth server for a massive datafeed project I'm going to undertake.

    This means I'm now paying around $1k a month for hosting.... It seems like so much considering what I started out with.

    I do hope to get rid of one of the servers though. My oldest one is a 1ghz duron and I'm paying $140 a month for it roughly. I plan to migrate most of the sites off of it.
    Chris Beasley - My Guide to Building a Successful Website[size=1]
    Content Sites: ABCDFGHIJKLMNOP|Forums: ABCD EF|Ecommerce: Swords Knives

  2. #2
    I'm the oogie boogie man! James's Avatar
    Join Date
    Aug 2004
    Location
    Canada
    Posts
    1,566
    I'm paying a hefty 30 dollars a quarter.
    But there are only a few sites hosted on the server so it's pretty fast and the host's flexible--so if I go a few gigabytes over the limit he won't care; however, if I go 30 gb over the limit unless it's a dDOS attack then he'll charge me. I just hope if I do use that amount I'll have good ads up.

  3. #3
    Registered Member incka's Avatar
    Join Date
    Aug 2003
    Location
    Wakefield, UK, EU
    Posts
    3,801
    Massive datafeed project? Sounds good.

    I'm only on one server (and quite a powerhouse it is), but I can see in a few months needing a second one...

  4. #4
    Senior Member AndyH's Avatar
    Join Date
    May 2004
    Location
    Australia
    Posts
    553
    I pay just under $500 for 5 servers.

    2 Dual Xeons 2.0 (1GB RAM)
    2 P4 2.4 Hyperthreaded (512MB RAM)
    1 1Ghz or something, they had a sale on and it costs something like $30/mon (with 1000GB bandwidth) so I will just be using it as the download / image server

    But as you said, it seems so much from where I started.

    Started by hosting my website on my own computer and people could only access it when I was connected (56k mode) - then leeched free webhosting off a friend and ended up here.
    New website released. ya rly!

  5. #5
    Administrator Chris's Avatar
    Join Date
    Feb 2003
    Location
    East Lansing, MI USA
    Posts
    7,048
    My latest two servers have been p4 3.06's, that sounds like a nice deal on the 1ghz though. My 1ghz started out at $100 a month but after memory upgrades and ensim upgrades (and tax, which I guess they don't do anymore) it was $130 (now probably $120).

    Ev1 can be pretty cheap, but as time passes your server is worth less and less and they don't lower what you're paying any.
    Chris Beasley - My Guide to Building a Successful Website[size=1]
    Content Sites: ABCDFGHIJKLMNOP|Forums: ABCD EF|Ecommerce: Swords Knives

  6. #6
    mastermind michael_gersitz's Avatar
    Join Date
    Aug 2003
    Location
    Buffalo
    Posts
    749
    Chris, What will you do when your Other sites expand out of the maximum characthers in a sig?

  7. #7
    Registered Member moonshield's Avatar
    Join Date
    Aug 2004
    Location
    Charlotte
    Posts
    1,281
    allow more characters in the sig.

  8. #8
    Registered Member incka's Avatar
    Join Date
    Aug 2003
    Location
    Wakefield, UK, EU
    Posts
    3,801
    Chris - You are now No.1 on google for Orienteering.

  9. #9
    Administrator Chris's Avatar
    Join Date
    Feb 2003
    Location
    East Lansing, MI USA
    Posts
    7,048
    Without even trying...
    Chris Beasley - My Guide to Building a Successful Website[size=1]
    Content Sites: ABCDFGHIJKLMNOP|Forums: ABCD EF|Ecommerce: Swords Knives

  10. #10
    Banned
    Join Date
    Dec 2003
    Posts
    152
    Wow. Only ever needed one server. Plain redhat. ~1.5 GHz. Serves thousands and thousands of daily uniques. Have seen such servers handle almost 100K daily uniques.

  11. #11
    Registered User davesplace1's Avatar
    Join Date
    Oct 2003
    Location
    Seaside, Oregon
    Posts
    192
    Like most people here I started out with free hosting, then found out that paying for your own hosting more than pays for itself. Sounds like if you are paying $1k a month for hosting, bussiness must be pretty good

  12. #12
    Registered Member moonshield's Avatar
    Join Date
    Aug 2004
    Location
    Charlotte
    Posts
    1,281
    paying for your own hosting? Don't you need like a T3 line or something... aren't T1 lines over a thousand a month?

  13. #13
    Administrator Chris's Avatar
    Join Date
    Feb 2003
    Location
    East Lansing, MI USA
    Posts
    7,048
    It isn't cost effective to do your own hosting, much more cost effective to outsource it to a datacenter that runs thousands of servers under one roof.

    I could probably fit all my sites on one server, but I wouldn't want to.

    My literature site, that now has a server of it's own, was running very very slowly on the old 1ghz duron. Plus, when I'd send out the newsletter, it'd basically kill the mail server. I am going to put one or two additional sites on this server, but thats it.

    My coupon and sword sites are also on their own server, why? Because when they go down I lose serious money. I don't want them on the same server as any of my other sites, especially the forum sites, since I don't want anything dragging them down.

    Then my new server is for a massive datafeed project, simply massive, and I'll be moving all my AWS sites to it. It needs to be able to handle being crawled by search engines (and with millions of pages it'll be hit hard).

    That leaves two servers, the one this site is on, and my old 1ghz. I'll be moving all my remaining normal content sites to this server, and I'll probably drop the old 1ghz.

    Traffic isn't the only thing that decides how much a server can take though, what that traffic is doing is an important consideration. If you're just serving straight HTML thats no problem, but add scripting and database usage into the mix and you'll be able to support much less.
    Chris Beasley - My Guide to Building a Successful Website[size=1]
    Content Sites: ABCDFGHIJKLMNOP|Forums: ABCD EF|Ecommerce: Swords Knives

  14. #14
    Registered Member moonshield's Avatar
    Join Date
    Aug 2004
    Location
    Charlotte
    Posts
    1,281
    so it makes sense to keep databases on the more powerful servers and keep the HTML on less powerful servers.

  15. #15
    I'm the oogie boogie man! James's Avatar
    Join Date
    Aug 2004
    Location
    Canada
    Posts
    1,566
    Couldn't you just have a script that uses AWS and churns out HTML pages?

    My friend who is working on the CMS for a site we're collaborating together for made the CMS show .html pages, and I don't see why AWS couldn't.

    Would HTML pages lower the load on the server, increase it, or basically cause no change?

Similar Threads

  1. Replies: 0
    Last Post: 08-19-2004, 01:15 PM
  2. php: cache files on a remote server ?
    By tomek in forum Website Programming & Databases
    Replies: 2
    Last Post: 07-12-2004, 08:48 PM
  3. Replies: 2
    Last Post: 02-06-2004, 10:47 PM
  4. Rackshak dedicated server
    By aaandy in forum Web Hosting & Servers
    Replies: 24
    Last Post: 12-05-2003, 09:15 AM
  5. Server migration
    By lemon in forum Search Engine Optimization
    Replies: 3
    Last Post: 08-27-2003, 10:40 AM

Bookmarks

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •