Results 1 to 13 of 13

Thread: MAC and CSS

  1. #1
    Registered
    Join Date
    Feb 2004
    Location
    Ontario, Canada
    Posts
    273

    MAC and CSS

    Should code such as the following work in Mac browsers? My friend is a Mac user and he's been sending me screenshots in which none of my link colors are working, and sometimes fonts are incorrect also.

    Code:
    <!--
    A:link {font-family:"Verdana";color:"#ff6600"; text-decoration: underline;}
    A:visited {font-family:"Verdana";color:"#ff6600"; text-decoration: underline;}
    A:hover {font-family:"Verdana";color:"#ff6600"; text-decoration:none;}
    .headerbackground 
    -->   
    
    .text_reg {color:#000000; font-size: 10pt; font-family: verdana, helvetic, arial;}
    .text_bold {color:#000000; font-size: 10pt; font-family: verdana, helvetic, arial; font-weight:bold;}
    .text_small {color:#000000; font-size: 8pt; font-family: verdana, helvetic, arial;}
    .text_bold {color:#000000; font-size: 10pt; font-family: verdana, helvetic, arial; font-weight:bold;}
    .text_footer {color:#ffffff; font-size: 10pt; font-family: verdana, helvetic, arial;}

  2. #2
    Future AstonMartin driver r2d2's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2003
    Location
    UK
    Posts
    1,608
    maybe try lower case letters throughout - not sure if it makes a difference, but I've never seen upper case used in any tutorials.

    The fact that its a Mac doesnt make a difference, its the browser that is important.

  3. #3
    Registered
    Join Date
    Feb 2004
    Location
    Ontario, Canada
    Posts
    273
    Should all of that stuff work on the newer versions of browsers available for Mac though?

  4. #4
    Future AstonMartin driver r2d2's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2003
    Location
    UK
    Posts
    1,608
    Oh yes, all that stuff is very basic, it should work on any newer browser easily.

    Can you post a link so we can see the offending page 'in action'.

  5. #5
    Registered
    Join Date
    Feb 2004
    Location
    Ontario, Canada
    Posts
    273
    http://www.hdskate.com
    http://www.webdifference.com

    Maybe it's a problem with how I'm using it in the body. I'm not very efficient with CSS. I do all of my links like this:

    Code:
    <a href="http://www.websitepublisher.net"><span class="links_feature">Website Publisher</span></a>.
    For text I do basically the same thing. Should I be doing something else to have these other browsers read it properly?

  6. #6
    Roll Tide! mobilebadboy's Avatar
    Join Date
    Apr 2004
    Location
    Mobile, AL
    Posts
    428
    For links, you don't do it that way.


    Code:
    <a class="links_feature" href="http://www.websitepublisher.net">Website Publisher</a>
    To save time from all the screenshots form your friend.

    http://www.danvine.com/icapture/
    http://www.danvine.com/iecapture/
    Shawn Kerr .com

  7. #7
    Future AstonMartin driver r2d2's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2003
    Location
    UK
    Posts
    1,608
    I find its pretty unlikely you'll need to use <span> really, use

    Code:
    <p class="css_class">text</p>
    for text and as above for links.

  8. #8
    Registered
    Join Date
    Feb 2004
    Location
    Ontario, Canada
    Posts
    273
    Thanks guys.
    Great links there mobilebadboy.

  9. #9
    Registered
    Join Date
    Feb 2004
    Location
    Ontario, Canada
    Posts
    273
    New problem.

    If I use <p class="css_class">Text.</p> it's going to make a new paragraph everytime I switch fonts.

    That will mean lots of ugly spaces if I make that change to something that I currently use, like this:

    Code:
    <span class="text_bold">
      <?php print $article_title ?><br>
    </span>
    <span class="text_reg">
      by <?php print $author_name ?>
    </span>
    <span class="text_date">
      Posted <?php print $article_date ?><br>
    </span>
    What I else could I use to make this work without having a new paragraph everytime?

  10. #10
    Registered Mike's Avatar
    Join Date
    May 2003
    Location
    UK
    Posts
    2,755
    Are you just trying to change the style of text?

    Try using <font class="classhere"> ?
    Don't you just love free internet games ?

  11. #11
    Future AstonMartin driver r2d2's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2003
    Location
    UK
    Posts
    1,608
    If you really want to do that then yeah, the way you have is best.

  12. #12
    Registered
    Join Date
    Sep 2003
    Posts
    110
    Quote Originally Posted by cameron
    http://www.hdskate.com
    http://www.webdifference.com

    Maybe it's a problem with how I'm using it in the body. I'm not very efficient with CSS. I do all of my links like this:

    Code:
    <a href="http://www.websitepublisher.net"><span class="links_feature">Website Publisher</span></a>.
    For text I do basically the same thing. Should I be doing something else to have these other browsers read it properly?
    Cool site. My link is being qued.

  13. #13
    Registered The New Guy's Avatar
    Join Date
    May 2004
    Posts
    283
    xhtml is case specific.

Bookmarks

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •