Results 1 to 10 of 10

Thread: using sub-domains rather than main domain

  1. #1
    Registered
    Join Date
    Dec 2003
    Posts
    10

    using sub-domains rather than main domain

    Hi there,

    I have decided to develop a website over the next couple weeks. Before I start, I was wondering about whether using sub-domains is good for search engines or whether it would be wise to stick to just using the main domain.

    i.e.

    sub-domain examples:

    articles.example.com
    news.example.com
    mail.example.com

    main domain examples:

    www.example.com/articles/
    www.example.com/news/
    www.example.com/mail/

    I just wondered whether using sub-domains affected ranking within search engines? I know very little about SEO, so I just thought I'd ask those that are knowledgeable.

    Thanks,

    Greg

  2. #2
    Senior Member thebillionaire's Avatar
    Join Date
    Apr 2004
    Posts
    746
    I thing that subdomains aren't that useful because people "many" aren't used to it.

  3. #3
    Trench Warfare
    Join Date
    May 2003
    Location
    Australia
    Posts
    813

    Re: using sub-domains rather than main domain

    Originally posted by grichards
    Hi there,

    I have decided to develop a website over the next couple weeks. Before I start, I was wondering about whether using sub-domains is good for search engines or whether it would be wise to stick to just using the main domain.

    i.e.

    sub-domain examples:

    articles.example.com
    news.example.com
    mail.example.com

    main domain examples:

    www.example.com/articles/
    www.example.com/news/
    www.example.com/mail/

    I just wondered whether using sub-domains affected ranking within search engines? I know very little about SEO, so I just thought I'd ask those that are knowledgeable.

    Thanks,

    Greg
    Greg, it would make no difference, either way. The main thing Google looks at is anchor text.
    ________
    vapir no2
    Last edited by ozgression; 02-06-2011 at 05:41 AM.

  4. #4
    Registered Member incka's Avatar
    Join Date
    Aug 2003
    Location
    Wakefield, UK, EU
    Posts
    3,801
    For memory I perfer to see websites using both.

    I like to be able to type in:

    new.bbc.co.uk

    or

    bbc.co.uk/news

  5. #5
    Registered
    Join Date
    Dec 2003
    Posts
    10
    Thanks for the replies Guys.

    Just checking because I wasn't sure if each sub-domain was considered a separate domain as such - therefore, it would be hard to rank high in Google with your main domain name i.e. www.example.com.

    Good idea Incka - I think I may give the option for both!

    Cheers,

    Greg

  6. #6
    Administrator Chris's Avatar
    Join Date
    Feb 2003
    Location
    East Lansing, MI USA
    Posts
    7,048
    Don't use both.

    Then you have two distinct URLs to access the same content. That is a very bad thing.

    I don't use subdomains because of their complexity. They are both more complex for users and more complex to set up. Considering they're no better than directories I go with the simpler option.
    Chris Beasley - My Guide to Building a Successful Website[size=1]
    Content Sites: ABCDFGHIJKLMNOP|Forums: ABCD EF|Ecommerce: Swords Knives

  7. #7
    Registered
    Join Date
    Dec 2003
    Posts
    10
    Thanks for your reply.

    Can I ask why using both is bad? I can kind of understand from some stuff that I remember reading, but is it because it looks like I'm duplicating content to try and get more links out in Google.

    I agree setting them up is a pain. I might just stick with using directories then

    This all came from an idea I had about sub-domains looking more professional

    Thanks for the help!!

  8. #8
    Administrator Chris's Avatar
    Join Date
    Feb 2003
    Location
    East Lansing, MI USA
    Posts
    7,048
    Its like divide and conquer. If visitors use both methods then visitors will link to both methods on their websites which means you'll have two pages of the same content each with half as much pr as they could have.
    Chris Beasley - My Guide to Building a Successful Website[size=1]
    Content Sites: ABCDFGHIJKLMNOP|Forums: ABCD EF|Ecommerce: Swords Knives

  9. #9
    Registered Member incka's Avatar
    Join Date
    Aug 2003
    Location
    Wakefield, UK, EU
    Posts
    3,801
    What Chris is saying is more like divide and be conqured...

    You could do a redirect thing on one if you wanted to do both, the code has been mentioned several times here.

  10. #10
    Registered
    Join Date
    Dec 2003
    Posts
    10
    Thanks for your replies.

    I understand the reasons now I think I'll stick to just using one or the other! Thanks for the redirect tip aswell!

    By the way Chris, I really like your latest Jewelry website!! Good work!

Similar Threads

  1. Advertise on GalacNet! ( 500,000 impressions monthly! )
    By galacnet in forum The Marketplace
    Replies: 0
    Last Post: 05-04-2004, 02:25 AM
  2. Replies: 5
    Last Post: 02-15-2004, 06:18 PM
  3. Replies: 9
    Last Post: 01-26-2004, 02:00 AM
  4. Replies: 12
    Last Post: 01-10-2004, 05:29 AM
  5. Using domain placeholder pages to boost PR
    By Westech in forum Search Engine Optimization
    Replies: 8
    Last Post: 11-17-2003, 07:40 AM

Bookmarks

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •