Thread: Smooth exit for real estate brokers

Junior Registered

Smooth exit for real estate brokers

I am a licensed real estate agent. I procured the license sometime back. However, after entering the real estate trade, meeting the people, and learning the trends and tricks of the trade, I realized that I am not cut out for the trade. But I do not wish to give up my license. Is there some way by which I can keep earning something from the real estate business without being an active agent?

If you have authority in the field, there are options. But with my options it requires some knowledge of editing code, running a website, etc. So unless you want to hire someone, you would need to learn the craft of yet another new area.

You could start a blog about real estate and post your knowledge on different topics that may come up in buying a home. Run Google Adsense on it. Can use Wordpress for the blog (easy setup, but requires hosting with certain criteria).

OR

Build a site from eBay's real estate listings using their APIs. Add articles (similiar to the blog postings) about home buying. Could also tie in to Zillow's APIs and combine their info with the real estate listings + the articles. This is a very advanced option, but an option. One I even thought of at one time. Just don't have the knowledge of the field.

OR

Do both or more. Listings (local or nationwide) + blog + articles + adsense + whatever. Would be good to start off locally so you know the market, and expand if it works out.

Blogging with Wordpress is easy (and setup is easy as long as you have hosting, which can come fairly cheap a month). Articles, if you have the knowledge and can write decently, should be easy. The other stuff is more avdanced and does require quite a bit of knowledge. There are sites where you can hire programmers, no guarantees in what you get though.