PDA

View Full Version : Selecting an appropriate db and language

saraj
02-05-2004, 03:48 AM
I am a recent graduate and i am fortunate enough to have gained employment in the IT sector, and I have been given the responsibility to research different languages and database suitable for use for a web site we plan to implement.

My main concern is the database to use:
* The db must be scalable it must be capable of holding a minimum of 100 and a max of 20,000 users.
* Each user must have the capability of having 20+ tables
* Each user may have over 1000 event to enter
For this i was wondering would it be possible to have one main user db for name, id, and password
and then individual db's after this

Languages:
* The main languages currently been used in the company are delphi and vb, and the senior programmer would like to use these languages in the implementation.
* I have researched the possibility of delphi 7 or 8 (if delphi 8 is released we would prefer to use it),
vb and java.

Server:
* There are two possibilities here an internal server or external

Any advice you could provide would be gratefully accepted, this includes web links or books.

Thanking you in advance
saraj

Chris
02-05-2004, 07:16 AM
Why would each user need 20+ tables? That seems like bad database design to me.

However with 20,000 concurrent users you'll probably want to use Oracle.

saraj
02-05-2004, 07:27 AM
I understand where you are coming from on the db design, and we are constantly working on it
but with the db to use there is a major problem my employer isn't willing to pay that mush so do you think MySql would work in the begining while were trying to establish a customer base
also do you know how many concurrent user can access MySql
Thank you for your reply and hope you don't mind helping once again

Chris
02-05-2004, 08:21 AM