PDA

View Full Version : PR3 not appearing in SERPS

cothse
02-07-2008, 01:31 PM
Hi,

I've been running a website for a few months, which isn't much but is a PR3 site. Something that really has me boggled with it is the fact that it's not appearing in the search results for my main keyword phrase, at all.

You may take a look at the site here:
www. piano-lessons-master-teachers .com

The anchor text used in backlinks is predominantly the site title.

I know Google is giving me some positioning on 3 and 4 word phrases of the site's title. But for the first two words, it is nowhere to be found. I find it strange that websites listed at the end of the search results that have no backlinks and marginally related content are outranking mine and pushing it off the serps. I'm curious as to what is causing this.

Thanks,
Eugene

P.S. I'm pretty new at this and would benefit from any advice you might have. Please feel free to analyze and criticize.

Chris
02-08-2008, 06:56 AM
I'm assuming you're "main keywords" are what is in your domain?

Do you have a setup with Google SiteMaps?

I wrote a whole article troubleshooting this issue.

http://www.websitepublisher.net/article/google-ban/

Check it out, setup the Google Webmaster Central accounts, and then let me know what you see.

cothse
03-05-2008, 11:23 AM
Hi Chris,

First of all, thanks for taking the time to post a response.

I do have an existing setup with google sitemaps, and from what I'm seeing in the webmaster tools, there doesn't seem to be any major issues with my site. As a matter of fact, it ranks fairly well for some crappy keywords that I never optimized it for, like "articles piano," "piano blogger," and "piano education." The site is very poorly optimized for these keywords, but apparently google is still giving it a lot of credit for them. What's with that?