PDA

View Full Version : Can I edit my page while someone is viewing it?

flyfamilyguy
12-29-2007, 05:24 PM
Hey folks!
I'm new to this whole website creation thing. My site is up,(flyfamilyguy.athost.net). What if someone is viewing my page while I am editing it. Can I change the look of my site while people are viewing it?
Thanks!

Shyflower
12-30-2007, 06:44 AM
That's called editing "on the fly". As long as you haven't saved the "new" page, the viewer sees the "old" page. For minor edits it isn't a problem, but if you're doing a major change that might "break" the page or need other revisions, you're better off to do a "test" page. Save that. Download the final product to your hard drive and then upload it to your FTP.

dvduval
01-01-2008, 08:00 PM
The visitor will see the changes after they refresh the page. Shyflower makes a good suggestion to test your changes before going live, and that way you don't make a silly mistake. :)

flyfamilyguy
01-01-2008, 09:02 PM
Thanks You Guy's!
My problem now is Email. I Installed phpBB to /forum. It's up and running http://www.flyfamilyguy.my2gig.com/forum But every time someone registers, they get a Mail Error Message because email is not set up on my server. This is because I have no idea how to do it. Can someone assist me?
Thanks!

Blue Cat Buxton
01-02-2008, 02:44 AM
Are you sure this free hosting account allows you to set up email?

Shyflower
01-02-2008, 07:40 AM
You can do simple forms in html. However, it's not advisable because they are neither secure for your site nor your visitors. PHP is a server side language. Are you sure that your free server supports php? I think you need to take a better look at the applications your server provides. Most provide some type of form mail, but you won't be able to use applications outside of their limitations.

bermuda
01-06-2008, 01:09 AM