PDA

View Full Version : Cheepest way to start

StuartDykes
12-08-2007, 02:43 PM
Hey guys, im completely new to this but fancey having a play around so expect many stupid qs over the next few months.
Ryt, i want to try and set up an e commerce shop. What do I need, how much does it cost, can it be done for free. I really want to try stuff for free first before i commit and start spending money on stuff.
Any advice is appreciated.
________
KLX125A (http://www.cyclechaos.com/wiki/Kawasaki_KLX125A)

Chris
12-08-2007, 07:34 PM
I wouldn't try to do ecommerce for free. The reason is that you'll make things harder on yourself later when you need to upgrade and if you cannot justify spending just a few hundred to launch a site, maybe you shouldn't be launching a site.

I launched my first ecommerce site for $1200, it did $500,000 in sales the first 8 months. If I had dicked around trying to launch it for nothing, I may not have made anything or gotten it launched.

Plan on spending $200-$400 for shopping cart software & skin/design.

$10 per month for your hosting, maybe $15

$50 or so for an SSL certificate (yearly fee).

Up to $99 setup fee to open a merchant account, and probably $20-$30 a month to keep it open. Or you could use a third party shopping cart (paypal etc).

Then of course, you have to buy your initial inventory, boxes, tape, packing material, etc.

StuartDykes
12-09-2007, 03:21 AM
Thanks for your advice. Hadnt really been that serious about doning it, but it appears that you need to be if you want to cover your costs.
________
CBR1000RR (http://www.cyclechaos.com/wiki/Honda_CBR1000RR)

Cloughie
12-15-2007, 02:35 AM
Great advice from Chris...

Getting up and running properly also gives you monthly outgoings. hosting, merchant account so you need to be sure you can do well or you can quite quickly just go backwards from the start.

Take some time to think properly about your idea and what you will sell and be sure it is something you think people will want.