PDA

View Full Version : Help with my first website....

neil_ross
11-16-2007, 02:54 PM
Hello everyone!

This is my first post, great site you have here!

i was hoping someone could give me some help......

ive made my first site in dreamweaver and i now need to buy a domain and get it hosted. As i have never done this before i was wondering if someone could tell what i need to do and what to look out for (any cons etc), is there a particular site to buy space/names from?

thanks for all your help

Neil :D

Chris
11-16-2007, 06:08 PM
Godaddy is going to be pretty cheap as far as registration goes.
Or enom.

I wouldn't ever buy anything else from a registrar though except the domain, they'll try to upsell you with all sorts of junk, stay away from that.

Never get your hosting and your domain from the same company, too many eggs in 1 basket there.

Todd W
11-16-2007, 06:36 PM
I personally like to use eNom ovr GoDaddy yet I have domains with both. (Only some with GoDaddy from their cheap .99 info deails, and transfers there, all get moved to enom eventually).

As far as hosting goes 1AND1 was a support and billing nightmare, HostGator had server/network issues for 5+hrs at a time.. The only host other than my own server I've been happy with for almost two years now (no recorded down time) has been: http://hostasaurus.com/ They host some of my customers eCommerce sites, and thus why they charge more than your average web host.

-Todd

andyf
12-09-2007, 05:25 AM
Neil, As you are new to hosting world you should look for a host who is available round the clock for you with easy communication modes(Live chat/email/Phone). They should guarantee maximum uptime and should be affordable :) It's not too difficult to get such reliable host, you just need to do your research before.
Regarding Domain registrar, try to keep your registrar different from your host.
My vote for : enom :)

stream
12-19-2007, 05:43 AM