PDA

View Full Version : How employees can cost their employers dearly.

KLB
08-12-2007, 12:34 PM
Like any apartment building of any size, the floors of our building are divided and isolated by automatic closing fire doors, which help limit fire spread AND protect routes of egress for tenants. Well over the past few days the fire door closest to our apartment has been getting blocked open. Each time I would remove the rock propping the door open and it would get replaced. Being a former firefighter I know how important it is for my own life safety that these doors remain closed at all times. I also knew it was a violation of law to block or disable fire doors such that they could not close properly.

Well I finally had enough and put a sign on the door that it was not to be blocked open. Then this morning I heard my sign being torn down and caught the individual who was blocking the door open. I tried to explain that it was against the law to block or disable the door and she claimed that our landlord told her to do this and that if I had issues with it I had to take it up with him. I told her it didn't matter what the landlord had told her because what she was doing was against the law and I was not going to jeopardize my life safety or the safety of my possessions by allowing this door to remain open.