PDA

View Full Version : Got to play with Windows Vista today

KLB
06-07-2007, 10:58 AM
Today I got my first chance to play around with Windows/Office Vista. My initial rating is a great big thumbs down. I was helping a client get two new Windows Vista machines working on their network and running a mission critical Access database. Hooking up to the network and all that stuff went smoothly. What I hated is the new menuing system. I couldn't find anything I wanted in Access (which I have been developing in for over ten years). The menus are convoluted and cluttered.

What was once simple tasks are now buried in obscurity. Whom ever designed the new menuing system needs to be taken out back and shot. The old system worked reasonably well and had a clean layout. I do not understand what the folks in Redman were smoking when they developed the new menuing ideas but they suck. Unfortunatly there is no way to switch back over to traditional menus, which would have been nice to do.

My client has about a dozen computers, and all abut the newest two run Windows XP with either Office 2000 or Office 2003. Now he has two machines that are Windows Visita and his staff is going to be lost when they work on the new machines as none of his employees are more than basic users. Not being able to switch to a common menuing interface between different versions of Windows/Office is going to play havoc with productivity.

Emancipator
06-07-2007, 12:12 PM
as somebody who owns windows vista I wish to god i still had xp.. a complete nightmare.

Todd W
06-07-2007, 12:32 PM
Exactly. I wouldn't touch VISTA for at least 2 years :eek:

Generalissimo
06-07-2007, 01:19 PM
There is a project to bring longhorn back. I think it's longhorn-reloaded.org

KLB
06-07-2007, 02:43 PM