PDA

View Full Version : Taking a share of Myspace's success

srjcstud
03-17-2007, 07:28 PM
Do you guys think there is oportunity in following the myspace model? I think social networking has just begun. There are going to be social networks for hunters, car enthusiasts, gardeners, and all kinds of other groups. Do any of you have any plans to develop a social networking site?:)

Emancipator
03-17-2007, 08:14 PM
over the last little while a ton of niche myspace sites have popped up. I know i wrote 2 in an afternoon but frnakly they are far from EXPLOSIVE in popularity lol.

srjcstud
03-17-2007, 08:19 PM
Why do you think they aren't working out?

Emancipator
03-17-2007, 08:23 PM
lack of effort on my part. I should say i have hundreds of members on each, in fact its probly more like 1,000 on each. It takes more then just a script to make it fly.

srjcstud
03-17-2007, 08:29 PM
It takes more then just a script to make it fly.

Sorry im new to web publishing, What is a script?

Mike
03-18-2007, 02:18 AM
Sorry im new to web publishing, What is a script?

Some programming that makes a site function the way it does...

Out of interest emancipator, did you mainly promote these through your other sites or completely separately?

srjcstud
03-18-2007, 07:12 AM
Thanks Mike!

What about a social networking site dedicated to connecting individuals with a common cause! Each group could create there own community. It would be an online meeting place for social groups such as Alcoholics Anonymous, mothers against drunk driving, the Care Foundation, Cancer foundations. You could even charge a fee per so many members a year. It would be an online meeting place for social groups.

KLB
03-18-2007, 07:28 AM