PDA

View Full Version : Excluding Rows in PHP?

Mike
12-27-2003, 01:27 PM
Hi all,

Does anyone know if you can exclude rows in PHP? Like do something like:

$result = mysql_query("SELECT * FROM table EXCEPT ROW1 AND ROW2");

Obviously that wouldn't work (I don't think:)), but could anyone tell me if there is a method like that?

Cheers,
Mike

emke
12-27-2003, 03:21 PM
this is the first thing that hit me...

SELECT * FROM table WHERE id<>5

basically what this does is that it takes into account all the ids below 5 and over 5 but not id=5.

I hope you get it as I'm not good at explaining things like this.

Mike
12-27-2003, 04:54 PM
So it basically just ignores the fifth row? You'd write it if you didn't want row 5 to be included?

Also would you have to change id to anything?

Thanks,
Mike

emke
12-27-2003, 05:56 PM
Yes, it ignores the id=5.

Mike
12-28-2003, 03:18 AM
Thanks emke:)

Stevens
01-26-2004, 02:04 PM
On the other hand, what would be the easiest way to say...get the first two rows returned.

I thought at first that I'd have to throw in the mysql_fetch_array() function to select the first two results of a query (ordered by date desc), but I'm having problems getting the result set to show correctly. By using either the numeric indices or the field ID association, I get defined fields for each row returned, but what I really need is to get the associative fields in each row AND limit the result set to the two most current entries.

I thought the above function would do the trick if manipulated right, but now that I read this post I thought there might actually be a solution in the query that will return only the wtwo records I need...any ideas?

ERIC

MarkB
01-26-2004, 02:48 PM
why not try:

SELECT field1, field2 FROM tbl_whatever LIMIT 2

?

Chris
01-26-2004, 03:42 PM
To order it by date and limit it (Assuming you have a "Date" field).

select * from table order by date desc limit 2