PDA

View Full Version : Any advice about hiring an onsite developer?

Erin
01-17-2007, 08:57 PM
I'm not a programmer, and I can't keep up with all the stuff I need and want to do, so I'm thinking about hiring someone full-time or part-time. I actually went so far as to place an ad already, but the vast majority of the people wanted to telecommute, which I'm not interested in. I really want someone who works for me, like a 'real' employee. (I'm in San Francisco, by the way.)

I'm aware of all many of the problems of employing people, so I'm not really looking for advice about going this route or contracting out, but I would consider going with a temp agency first, if only to get a feel for what it's like to work with a coder.

What I really want is someone to fix small things. For example, say I want to change WSP to WP sitewide. I would like to tell this person to take care of it for me. Or I need to make a local backup of a database, I'd want her or him to do it. I figure I'd need an employee for this kind of thing because I don't think many businesses would want to handle such tedious stuff.

Any ideas?

Cutter
01-17-2007, 10:58 PM
I would say go with part time for basic stuff, and outsource someone offsite for everything else.

If you are looking for a full-time programmer you definately want to outsource unless your ready to burn some serious coin for just an average programmer in the United States. I'm in the process of getting a fully-managed programmer for $2500 a month, should have 5+ years experience. Given the locality thats still pricey but I was willing to pay extra for all of the background work and management the outsourcer does. I imagine in the US the same programmer would cost $6000-$7000 a month along with all of the other hassles involved, not to mention employment taxes and government regulatory compliance costs.