PDA

View Full Version : What CMS do you use Aspen?

snoopers
12-16-2003, 11:15 AM
I notice that it is very google-friendly. I'd like to use it for some of my new site ideas.

Mike
12-16-2003, 11:26 AM
I think he made it himself, although I'm not fully certain.

Chris
12-16-2003, 01:31 PM
I made it myself.

Kings
12-17-2003, 12:06 PM
Have a look at MovableType (http://www.movabletype.org).

I'm using it for my site (ASPit (http://www.aspit.net)), and it's very powerful, and allows you to create search-friendly url's as well (like on this site).

It's originally a blogging tool, but it's powerful enough to function as a complete CMS. I've been using it for 3 months now, and I'm still discovering about new features.

Mike
12-17-2003, 12:33 PM
If you know PHP or something along those lines, then you may as well make your own. It's easy depending on how advanced you want it.

Kings
12-17-2003, 12:52 PM
Originally posted by Mike
If you know PHP or something along those lines, then you may as well make your own. It's easy depending on how advanced you want it. Well, it usually takes time to build a (good) CMS. I rather use an existing CMS (which I know is good) than take the time to make my own.

Mike
12-17-2003, 02:17 PM
That's why I said that it would be easy (meaning quick as well) if you wanted a simple one. Well, I meant that anyway.

You could make a CMS which allowed you to add and search in an hour or so. Really it depends on how far you want to go.

chromate
12-17-2003, 02:29 PM
I've never really made any real use of a pre-written CMS. I always bash out my own. I give clients a simple tool called HTMLEditBox, so they can easily change font / cut & paste from word etc and then that creates the HTML automatically. That's the written to a database. Simple.

Mike
12-17-2003, 02:57 PM
Is that like Sitepoint's Editize chromate? Also is it free?

snoopers
12-17-2003, 05:08 PM