View Full Version : Need some CSS help with two small issues

deronsizemore
11-10-2006, 04:49 PM
Here is the design thus far:

1. FIXED

2. FIXED

AmbulanceBlues
11-10-2006, 09:06 PM
There is an unnamed div encompassing all of the content in your footer div, which seems to be redundant. Your CSS Says this:

#footer {
width: 840px;
text-align: left;
margin: auto auto;
clear: both;
border-top: 1px dotted #999;
}
#footer div {
padding: 10px 5px 0 0;
}

The top border is applied to the footer div itself, not the second internal one. So, maybe whatever changes you are trying to make are being applied to the internal unnamed div rather than the actual one. That's what the CSS above would lead me to believe. I don't know if you are hand-coding or using a WYSIWYG editor. I'm no expert - I really just research things like this for my own edification - but itseems that might be where your problem starts.

Also, I have IE 7 and I think maybe your script was sending me CSS that it shouldn't have, because there were some comments to the effect that this or that was only for IE5, or 6, or 7. Is my browser supposed to interpret that, or is it a server side thing?

deronsizemore
11-10-2006, 09:38 PM
There is an unnamed div encompassing all of the content in your footer div, which seems to be redundant. Your CSS Says this:

#footer {
width: 840px;
text-align: left;
margin: auto auto;
clear: both;
border-top: 1px dotted #999;
}
#footer div {
padding: 10px 5px 0 0;
}

The top border is applied to the footer div itself, not the second internal one. So, maybe whatever changes you are trying to make are being applied to the internal unnamed div rather than the actual one. That's what the CSS above would lead me to believe. I don't know if you are hand-coding or using a WYSIWYG editor. I'm no expert - I really just research things like this for my own edification - but itseems that might be where your problem starts.