PDA

View Full Version : changing domain names



izwar
10-22-2006, 07:00 PM
how do i go about changing my site to another domain name, do i use a 301 redirect for the new name. and if so how do i do that ive never known how

stymiee
10-22-2006, 07:18 PM
You'll need to add the following lines of code to a file called .htaccess and place it in the root directory of the old domain:


RewriteEngine On
RewriteCond %{HTTP_HOST} ^(www\.)?old-domain\.com$ [NC]
RewriteRule ^(.*)$ http://www.new-domain.com/$1 [R=301,L]

izwar
10-23-2006, 06:24 AM
thanks