PDA

View Full Version : Could I get some thoughts on my adsense integration?

KelliShaver
08-10-2006, 11:35 AM
I just switched my Photoshop site over from YPN to Google. YPN wasn't targeting as well and the higher payouts I was seeing initially had dropped substantially over the last month. I wanted more relevant ads and more options for ad integration that google gives. I also didn't want to have to fool with geotargeting.

So far it's doing reasonably well and I'm pleased with it. However, I'm still seeing low CTR percentages. I suspect that this is probably because I tend to target a more tech-savvy demographic, but I wanted to ask for a 2nd opinion on ad placement. Since this is my first real content site that I've put any effort into, I'm still learning as I go.

Here's the URL (yes, getting a domain shortly): http://tutorials.kellishaver.com
And for your convenience, here's an internal page: http://tutorials.kellishaver.com/drawing-painting/mechanical-pencil/

Most of the pages aren't that long. I've started breaking up the tutorials into multiple pages in order to help with bandwidth issues and increase pageviews/ad impressions, but I haven't gone back and done this on a lot of the older tutorials.

Any thoughts would be greatly appreciated. Thanks. :)

Emancipator
08-10-2006, 11:44 AM
i found images next to the google ad dont work. To me I would lose the images, and align the ad to the right side of your article. That way they are reading the article, and the ad is inlayed. That I find works for me. Example http://www.game-reviews.ca/news_1305.htm

KelliShaver
08-10-2006, 01:04 PM
The problem with having it right aligned is that sometimes a tutorial will have very little text (i.e. not enough to clear the ad) before placing an image, so having the ad floating within the tutorial would really screw up the formatting when that occurs. This is why I'm not doing it.