PDA

View Full Version : Starting a Business

asphalt
08-03-2006, 10:30 AM
I am wanting to start an llc mainly for the protection it could give, I will be selling custom software in the near future and think this may help limit my risk.

Does anyone have any info on forming an llc through companies like legalzoom.com or http://www.sageintl.com/

I am just beginning my research into forming a company so any input would be appreciated.

Thanks

Shawn
08-03-2006, 11:47 AM
Don't form through a company. It only costs around $100 to register directly with your state -- all you do is print out a simple form and enclose a check.

Just spend 5 minutes to save yourself a few hundred.

asphalt
08-03-2006, 12:38 PM
Shawn, That was my original plan I have the forms. Some of this legal stuff get confusing.

paul
08-03-2006, 01:11 PM
Keep in mind that each entity like an LLC or Corp. has to file their own tax return with deadlines and requirements which may not be the same as those of a 1040 even with Schedule C. I would delay until the income from the business will pay for a tax advisor/bookkeeper. If the business doesn't work out, you will be on the hook to complete those tasks on your own. and not be able to afford the professional help.

asphalt
08-03-2006, 02:21 PM
Paul I thought about that also.... but I am worried about someone downloading my software installing it on their server and my software being blamed for data loss of something of that nature. It is highly unlikely but that still concerns me with my house and everything else being at risk.

Cutter
08-03-2006, 02:29 PM
If you are really concerned about asset protection you need to get a lawyer to do it all for you. If you do one or two things wrong that can basically nulify the liability proctection of the LLC, corporation, etc. -- which you wouldn't find out until it actually ended up in court.

paul
08-03-2006, 02:40 PM
which you wouldn't find out until it actually ended up in court.