PDA

View Full Version : WordPress Homepage



Giles
05-14-2006, 02:44 AM
I want to use a static page rather than a blog post as my wordpress homepage. Is this done by editing the Main Index Template.

Here's what mine looks like:


<?php get_header(); ?>
<?php if (have_posts()) : ?>
<?php while (have_posts()) : the_post(); ?>
<div class="post" id="post-<?php the_ID(); ?>">
<div class="data"><?php the_time('F jS, Y') ?></div>
<h3 class="title"><a href="<?php the_permalink() ?>" rel="bookmark" title="<?php the_title(); ?>">
<?php the_title(); ?>
</a></h3>
<div class="author">Posted
in <?php the_category(', ') ?> by
<?php the_author() ?> <?php edit_post_link('Edit','&nbsp;|&nbsp;',''); ?>
</div>
<?php the_content('More'); ?>
<?php wp_link_pages(); ?>
<div class="feedback">
<?php comments_popup_link(__('comments'), __('1 comments'), __('% comments'), '', __('comments off')); ?>
<span class="link-category">See also in
<?php the_category(', ') ?>
</span> </div>
</div>
<?php endwhile; ?>
<div class="page-navigation">
<div class="alignleft">
<?php next_posts_link('Previous articles') ?>
</div>
<div class="alignright">
<?php previous_posts_link('Next articles') ?>
</div>
</div>
<?php else : ?>
<h2>Not found!</h2>
<p><span class="highlight">Sorry, but you are looking for something that isn't
here!</span></p>
<?php include (TEMPLATEPATH . "/searchform.php"); ?>
</div>
<?php endif; ?>
<?php get_footer(); ?>

EDIT, I have fixed this using a plugin but i couldnt delete my post. Sorry.

MarkB
05-14-2006, 03:36 AM
Which plugin did you use?

Masetek
05-14-2006, 08:20 AM
Id be interested in knowing what plugin you used too. Can you post a link to your site that its running on?

r2d2
05-14-2006, 01:19 PM
I used this plugin for a static homepage: http://www.semiologic.com/software/static-front/

But I later just recoded the homepage to include two other posts - one above and one below the blog entries on my site : http://www.housebuyingguide.co.uk/ If you go to the sitemap (http://www.housebuyingguide.co.uk/sitemap/) you can see the 'Home main' & 'House Buying Guide' posts (I should fix that so it just lists the homepage).

Giles
05-14-2006, 02:12 PM
I use http://www.ilfilosofo.com/blog/home-page-control, it works great and all you need to do is choose the page in the drop down box in the options menu. I also use:
AdSense Deluxe
Google Sitemap Generator
SH Autolink
I imagine I will gather quite a few more over time. Because my domain hasn't propogated you will have to view my site at http://giles.zoomcities.com I would apprectiate any tips or constructive feedback.
Thanks