PDA

View Full Version : Whats wrong with my site?

vahsi000
04-29-2006, 04:31 AM
I recently got my friend to view my site mmorpg website (i'll be getting a domain name for it soon for those read my other posts) on his Firefox browser, i was so confident that it wouldn't have any errors, although I was right he sent me a screenshot where the layout was messed up, now I know i'm not a professional coder, neither have i taken courses to learn nor has someone taught me, i've taught myself just like alot of people on the internet...

i've been an internet explorer user my whole "internet" life so i practically grew up around tables, now with this trend to Firefox, i've been slowly increasing the amount of css every time.

The part i don't understand is there are 2 elements i've used as coding, html & css, now i'm pretty sure firefox supports css pretty well then the problem would be with the html (although i have more knowledge of html then knowledge of the back of my hand), but if it was with the html coding then i wouldn't have been able to validate it at w3c.

Can someone with firefox tell me if they too see the layout messed up and if it is I would greatly appreciate if someone can educate me with whats wrong with me...
www.vahsi000.com/mmorpg

KelliShaver
04-29-2006, 08:06 AM
Works fine for me. FF 1.5.0.2

Shyflower
05-02-2006, 05:16 AM
I see the line you're talking about in Firefox. The problem is in your css. However, you are defeating your purpose by placing all your css within your html. Take it out and put it either in the style information in your head or create an external style sheet. Then you can use the css validator at the w3c to help you find the problems. :)

Two things I noticed are:
1) you have a couple of css mistakes like div#input in your source. This should read either div #input or #input div, depending on what you are trying to do. Either way, you are forgetting a space.

2) if you are going to use style info within your html, this is wrong: