PDA

View Full Version : Anyone with Ruby/Rails experience?

paul
04-16-2006, 07:00 PM
Another posting at WSP (I forget where) lead me to the 27signals.com article called "Getting Real". I really liked what they had to say about website development so I went out and bought the Ruby book and Agile web development with Rails.

For some reason I find them a really good fit with how I had been thinking about website development.

However, I have been know to get carried away with new technology, so I am wondering if someone farther into the development process would care to comment. Does the website development process Ruby and Rails are supposed to support work as suggested?

My interest is with small sites that would benefit from advanced functions and rapid deployment. I am not concerned about server loads and/or speed for a large site.

Thanks,

Emancipator
04-16-2006, 07:54 PM
never even heard of it and i am a programmer. What is it and why do i want it?

paul
04-16-2006, 08:05 PM
I found a link at WSP and followed it here

https://gettingreal.37signals.com/

I bought the book and thought it was great. I plan to try and bring up some sites with functionality I had not previously considered based on this.

Take a look at their basecamp, campfire and other applications and see what you think.

Kings
04-17-2006, 01:33 AM
RoR is nice and all, but there are a few downsides to it, like not being able to find a proper web host and the fact that you'll have to learn a new language (Ruby).

If you want fast development, RoR isn't the only choice. For example, PHP has many frameworks these days which allow for fast development, and are pretty much up to par with RoR.

Emancipator
04-17-2006, 06:21 AM
the examples all require registering to see what they do, and that im so not doing. Somebody give me a 3 sentence run down on what is so amazing about Ruby And Rails. Sounds like Kings might be able to do that... whats the deal?

deronsizemore
04-17-2006, 06:37 AM