View Full Version : Forum Navigation at Bottom

03-07-2006, 03:50 PM
It would be really helpful to have some kind of navigation at the bottom of forum threads, even if it was just a copy of the breadcrumb navigation. I really like drop-downs with every forum category, but even being able to get back to the main forum category we were in would be helpful.

Just a thought... :)

03-08-2006, 10:54 AM
Interesting, I've never actually found myself using that forums drop down menu in forums.

03-08-2006, 10:59 AM
Well, I often go through several posts in each category and after posting I end up at the bottom looking at the post I just made. I have to scroll all the way up to the top of the page to get anywhere. There's not even a link to the previous category or home page.

03-08-2006, 03:00 PM
I'll vote +1 for that too. Some of the threads get really long. Have easy, fast access to the navigation would make it a less tedious process.

03-14-2006, 11:41 AM
+1 here as well, though I know with some forum systems it can cause performance issues.

03-14-2006, 12:16 PM
If you reverse the thread display and have the last post at the top like I do you will never have that problem! :alien:

There is a forum jump feature on most vB forums at the bottom, some do not have them enabled, it is up to the forum owner to enable this!

Young Twig
03-14-2006, 06:43 PM
I always use forum jump when a forum has one. :)

03-15-2006, 02:02 AM

03-23-2006, 08:33 PM
It does not seem like Chris likes it though guys or he would have put it up by now! :eek2: :bawling:

03-24-2006, 07:03 AM
I'm not sure how to put it up. copying the breadcrumb navigation at the bottom would mean copying backend code from one place to another and hoping it works.

03-24-2006, 08:48 AM
Chris they are talking about the drop down menu, not the breadcrumb navigation, see it on FPU.

You just have to enable it, Shawn at DP never had it and members asked and he enabled it, it is a setting in vB.

See attachment below and can you enable thumbnails instead of file name on your attachments settings?