PDA

View Full Version : vbulleting hosting

Snowballer
03-02-2006, 08:52 PM
I'm a windows developer, so i don't have much experience with unix boxes and vB resource usage.

Would pair hosting (shared) be enough to run a vB community? Say the traffic is like this forum (websitepublisher.net).

or would a dedicated server be my best bet?

Chris
03-02-2006, 08:57 PM
Shared hosting is fine. This site is run a server that is shared (just shared among my sites, but still shared).

KLB
03-02-2006, 08:59 PM
I use Pair networks for all of my web hosting. To run a vBulletin forum you would need an "Advanced" account or higher. If your forum gets too popular they may force you to a higher account for load purposes.

Cutter
03-02-2006, 10:08 PM
I've got virtual hosting on a very active forum, plus photopost too, and it runs just fine. Granted, it is a new forum, but there are over 2,000 users and its averaging about 7000 posts a month.

Bleys
03-02-2006, 10:40 PM
You might also check out ASmallOrange.com ... they have a number of people running largish vB forums on shared accounts. :)

KLB
03-02-2006, 10:51 PM
Like I said, no worries with Pair. I run vBulletin on my account along with custom a CMS and other really busy database driven site. They use dedicated database servers so your website will be hosted on one server and the database will be on a different server. Also the do tape backups on everything which comes in real handy after major screwups.

Fender963
03-02-2006, 11:24 PM
Im on shared hosting with Vbulletin and I easily get 450 new posts a day. My max concurrent users is also over 1000. I haven't had any problems yet.

Kyle

Chris
03-03-2006, 08:03 AM
Server settings can help alot.

My most popular forum was slowing down (alot, load average like 15-30%, 30 seconds for a page load) with 3-500 people online at once. It was on a 3.06 p4 with HT, 2 gb of ram, and was fairly alone on that server, especially as far as MYSQL goes.