PDA

View Full Version : New Flash TRAILER system

Emancipator
02-05-2006, 10:45 AM
I decided to finally start learning flash. My first flash project is a trailer park system. The movies are all fed from an xml feed so I can update every aspect of the system externally.

I have never made any thing in flash before. This is my first project done entirely with Actionscript. The one feature I am most proud of is that fact that the video auto-sizes to conform to the screen. So it will switch between widescreen and regular so you get best picture format. The code behind that took me quite a bit of humming. Each video clip, regardless of if it is 1min long or 6mins long is less then 1meg. So even dialup users can appreciate it. You can check it out here http://www.moviesonline.ca/movie_trailers.php

If you want the code to play with yourself just ask me. Happy to share it with you. I somewhat regret making my first flash project so tough but it turned out well. Took about 4-5 hours to complete. Feedback is welcome, naturally. Just be aware i still dont know really WTH im doing :P

michael_gersitz
02-05-2006, 09:18 PM
Wow. Very Nice. How did you get the video files to be under 1 meg with such nice quality? Where is the xml feed coming from? Your own site?

Emancipator
02-06-2006, 07:19 AM
I encoded the videos into flash first. There is 1 file in the batch that I couldnt compress to 1meg or less but on average they are 1meg to 1.5megs. The XML feed i store on my server. So when I want to add or update something I dont need to do anything i flash I just update the XML and I can then change the entire look and feel and whats playing on the trailer park system.

This was my first flash project and the latest update I did to it was the making it know what size to make the video. The width is autoset, but i dont want the height stretched. So with some code I made it auto-set the height.