PDA

View Full Version : My first content site. Reviews please!

Dural
01-09-2006, 05:21 PM
You guys inspired me to go out and create my first content site. Thank you for that. I've got big, big plans for this one. The site address is:

http://www.realestateanswered.com

It's a site about real estate investing. After producing a few free, highly popular information products, I'm ready to go big. Once I finish a couple of backend things in the next day or two, I'm planning to launch and start updating content daily.

How am I doing so far?

I'm planning to draw a good bit of traffic from search engines. "Real estate investment" is the most highly trafficked keyword, from what I can tell. "Real estate investing" is close. I'm also in the process of optimizing categories for keywords. For example, "foreclosure" is a hugely popular keyword. "Landlord" and "flipping houses" aren't bad either.

This is my first attempt at SEO. Am I doing it right?

For the sake of getting out the door quickly, I'm using a wordpress template for the design right now. What do you think? Is it easy enough to understand? My user base is older with less computer experience, so I wanted to make the interface simple.

My goal is to funnel users into my free reports and other freebies and start collecting e-mail addresses. Once I've built some credibility with them, auto responders will nudge them toward my double opt-in newsletter. That reminds me, I need to add a newsletter subscription form to the site. Whoops!

Anyway, the site is imperfect, but I've always been of the opinion to get things out the door quickly and then improve them as I go. How my doing so far? You guys have a LOT more experience with content sites than I do, so believe me, I'll be waiting by the computer for your opinions.

r2d2
01-09-2006, 05:35 PM
Hi Dural,