PDA

View Full Version : Javascript Links



Mike
05-08-2003, 01:21 PM
Hi there,

Would anyone be kind enough to tell me how you make javascript links please? Like Chris links to other pages, but the link actually reads on this site (if ya get me)!

Mike

Chris
05-08-2003, 01:42 PM
a javascript link can be made any number of ways

<a href = "javascript:void" onclick = "window.open(url);">

would be one.

Mike
05-08-2003, 01:45 PM
Thanks,

Will this mean my PR will not go down if I am linking to other sites please?

Chris
05-08-2003, 03:20 PM
If you link like that, no it will not go down.

Mike
05-09-2003, 08:13 AM
Thanks Chris...

I have the following:


<a href = "javascript:void" onclick = "window.open('links.html');" class="cssclass" title="title of link">LINKS</a>

Would that be OK please?

Sorry for all the bother...

Chris
05-09-2003, 10:30 AM
yes

Mike
05-09-2003, 10:36 AM
Thanks for all the help:)

Dwarf_Fighter
09-02-2003, 03:51 AM
Hi all,

It's a new issue but since there are may common points i thought it is a good idea to post here.

Will search engines follow such a link?



<script type="text/javascript">
function loadUrl(newLocation)
{
window.location.href = newLocation;
}
</script>

<a href="http://somesite.com" onclick="loadUrl(this.href); return false;">link-1</a>


What is your opinions?

Thanks in advance for any ideas

Chris
09-02-2003, 05:29 AM
yes.

Dwarf_Fighter
09-02-2003, 05:35 AM
what about this one?

<a href="java script:void" class="menu" onclick="window.location.href='http://www.domain.com'; return false;">domain.com</a>

Chris
09-02-2003, 07:25 AM
that should work.

A better way is to do

<script language = "javascript">
document.write('<a hre' + 'f = "ht' + 'tp://ww' + 'w.dom' + 'ain.com">text</a>');
</script>

If you really want to use javascript. There is nothing there that a search engine can parse a url from.

Dwarf_Fighter
09-02-2003, 10:40 PM
it worked! many thanks

(for other readers there is a typo in Chris' last post)
not <script language = "javascript>
<script language = "javascript">

just wanted to note it

s2kinteg916
10-27-2003, 07:42 PM
how do u create a javascript link ? without opening another window ?

i tried this
<a href = "javascript:void" onclick = "window.open(url);">

but it seems to come up a error for me

Chris
10-27-2003, 07:43 PM
that'd still open another window,

using top.href or self.href should work without opening another window.

Mike
12-12-2003, 05:40 AM
Bringing an old topic back...

I hope to have a javascript menu as top navigation, with the rest being text links. It won't really matter as all the important pages will be linked to with text links. So my question is would the following be ok? Or would it pass PR on?



<a href="#" onMouseOut="MM_swapImgRestore()" onMouseOver="MM_swapImage('Image10','','images/b1r.jpg',1)">
<img src="images/b1.jpg" name="Image10" width="95" height="19" border="0"></a>
<a href="#" onMouseOut="MM_swapImgRestore()" onMouseOver="MM_swapImage('Image4','','images/b2r.jpg',1)">
<img src="images/b2.jpg" name="Image4" width="70" height="19" border="0"></a>


Thanks,
Mike

Chris
12-12-2003, 11:58 AM
I edited your post so we didn't have horizontal scroll.

That should not pass PR. However it doesn't look like it'd function as a link either.

Mike
12-12-2003, 02:53 PM
Thanks for editting it:)

I've not tried it for functioning yet, I bought a Templatemonster template so that could be the reason:)

Anyway thanks Chris.

Mike
12-12-2003, 03:27 PM
Oh yeah and just on the topic of javascript links...

if you are using '(<a hre + 'f="http://") could you change it into <a hre + f="http://"). Like I don't need/want the document.write bit there, so would the way I show be the right way of going about things?

ozgression
12-12-2003, 05:46 PM
I just use the following...

<a href="#" onclick="window.open('http://www.url.com')">Text</a>

Ofcoarse, thats if you want to open the link in a new window.
________
roor bong (http://roorbongs.org)

r2d2
12-25-2003, 09:34 AM
Originally posted by Mike
if you are using '(<a hre + 'f="http://") could you change it into <a hre + f="http://"). Like I don't need/want the document.write bit there, so would the way I show be the right way of going about things?

Huh? Your saying you dont want the document.write bit? I dont quite understand that - thats how JS writes to the page.

You use JS to write the code so that you can break up the "<a href=" so Google doesnt realise its a link.