PDA

View Full Version : Back to doing it for fun and money?

Todd W
11-04-2005, 01:18 AM
Over the past couple years I have been picking out sites to make the most money, following the trends etc, and have come to realize that the sites of mine that are lasting the most are those that interest me the most.

I truthfuly believe that a site that includes content or is based on something that interets you will outlast a site you make to simply 'make money'. Now some people might say well isn't that why you make a site tomake money? Well yes it is if you do it for a living but that doesn't mean you can't enjoy the topic as well!

Just thought I`d share that after the years of making money online the things that stick around most and become most well known for me are those sites which I enjoy the topic as well.

Anyway just thought I`d share :)

Emancipator
11-04-2005, 07:21 AM
Todd I am no expert, not even close but I 100% completely agree with you. Following trends is all fine and good, but setting trends and doing things because they interest you and not because "everyone else says it works". is by far the way to go.

Chris
11-04-2005, 08:00 AM
You tend to know more on topics that interest you as well.

r2d2
11-04-2005, 09:02 AM
Also you are more likley to spend time working on it because you like it. You will like the subject, so enjoy writing about it, and creating a useful site.

Cutter
11-04-2005, 11:09 AM
There are a lot of positives to this.

-You already know what you are talking about, so content is easy to write (as Chris said)

-Because you know more you sound more interesting -- readers come back to your site and tell friends

-Because you know more you sound more authoritative -- other webmasters link to you, often with out you asking them

-And ultimately, updates feel like recreation rather than work