PDA

View Full Version : php mysql datafeed help

agua
10-31-2005, 01:37 AM
OK - I'm having a go at building a site from a datafeed using php and mysql.

The datafeed came in one file with the following field headers:

id, sku, Brand, category, name, description, price, SalePrice, OnSale, buyurl, keywords, imageurl

So I built 1 mysql table using those values.

I am fairly new to programming myself (always using premade solutions) so I am working through this data with Kevin Yanks "building data websites" book.

What I am looking to do is have the categories displayed on the left and the content on the right (but theres another question - displaying sub-cats split with a "|"?)

Is it possible for me to produce a datafeed site from this one table, or should I split it as the book says?

The datafeed has 7500 entries so I was hoping on not doing any edits in the database not the feed :) I was also planning to make this a quick project :D but one which I can reuse for other datafeeds.

LuckyShima
10-31-2005, 02:30 AM
Is it possible for me to produce a datafeed site from this one table, or should I split it as the book says?
It is not a large table. What do you mean the book says to split it?

agua
10-31-2005, 02:33 AM
Well its says to separate categories from articles - Keep them in separate tables and cross reference (relationship database!!)

Kate
10-31-2005, 02:51 AM
You can do it the way it is currently set up. In fact it would be easier than splitting the table.

MarkB
10-31-2005, 03:42 AM
For a quick site, leave it as-is.

For an advanced one, create an extra category table (with fields 'id', 'categoryname'), and then just use the relevant category_id in the product table (where you have 'category' now). This way, you can expand the category table to include descriptions, meta tags, and be able to keep the management of that seperate from the product table.

I hope that makes sense!

agua
10-31-2005, 05:37 AM