PDA

View Full Version : taxes

thebillionaire
10-09-2005, 11:23 AM
alright im new to all this, although I am exempt from taxes right now (under 18) I still need to know how it works.

Ok so I am to recieve my first check from google in a month I will cash that in, now how would the government know that I am earning money from the internet, will I have to contact someone? Will I be sent some sort of tax reciept from the gov. asking for the tax money?

Chris
10-09-2005, 01:50 PM
Which country are you in?

thebillionaire
10-09-2005, 03:21 PM
im in canada

AndyH
10-10-2005, 02:20 AM
I doubt you are exempt. Unless you make under a certain amount in the financial year.

James
10-10-2005, 03:20 AM
You are most certainly not exempt till you're 18. A friend of mine was being taxed at 11 years old.

But you only need to declare it if it's over a certain amount, or something along those lines.

Masetek
10-10-2005, 07:08 AM
If it's the same sort of system as here, you get a tax free threshold. Ours is around the 6k mark I think(?). Even if you don't earn over that amount, you may still be required to report the money you made and how you made it.

If I were you, I would speak to an accountant. They don't cost much these days

thebillionaire
10-10-2005, 09:37 AM
ok fine if im not excemp, can someone answer my question?

r2d2
10-10-2005, 11:37 AM
...can someone answer my question?

An accountant is probably your best bet. Do your parents have one you can speak to? Or someone you know?

thebillionaire
10-10-2005, 01:34 PM
no, but I was asking you uys because you guys pay taxes. I just wanna know if the gov sends like a form or something asking for the tax money

Westech
10-10-2005, 01:42 PM
You'll probably want to wait for an answer from a Canadian since what applies to people in other countries won't necessarily apply to you.