PDA

View Full Version : site affiliation

coolosxapps
07-09-2005, 04:07 PM
Hi. I have been lurking here quite some time. I have finally gotten around to creating a site and it is starting to get traffic.

It deals with a specific niche community, apple OS X users and it centers on cool osx applications. From apple and 3rd party as apple is open source and people really seem to be creating a lot of apps.

I used apple's logo in my design and my domain has os X in it as well. I am using the traffic to draw conversions from a linkshare program I set up with the apple store. I have pending applications to tribal fusion and casale.

This is my first time so excuse my n00b-ness....In return I will try to be a member of this community and share whatever I have learned.

I am running wordpress.org's blog software [php & MySQL]. I have just bought a bunch of domains and will continue to use this approach of blogging, syndicating, and putting out content to niche markets supported by affiliate ca$h.

Do I have too many ads?

Is apple gonna make me lose the logos?

I have a disclaimer that says I my site is not affiliated with apple. Then I added a whole slew of affiliate links, am I in fact affiliated with apple, and does this statement on non-affiliation make me look like super n00b?

I have also included a sneaky link to apple.com's site after the disclaimer is this considered below the belt?

Chris
07-09-2005, 04:25 PM
Yes, too many ads.

A single large banner will convert better than so many small ones, and your banners promoting completely unrelated things like 1800flowers and linkshare need to go.

I would also integrate the Google ads more into the design, the CTR should go up and it'll look less like an ad.

coolosxapps
07-09-2005, 05:33 PM
hi. thanks man. I read a great deal of your tutorials and want to thank you personally, err...digitally