PDA

View Full Version : CSS, hmmm.. one more question

BeautifulMind
05-04-2005, 04:25 AM
I know I’m a little layman (Lay Lady :)), but I have a question. Why is CSS so important? Why sometimes at the end of the page u can see short link CSS or RSS. Is it just popular or such link definitely needed on every web site?

--
http://www.customresearchpapers.us/

Chris
05-04-2005, 06:37 AM
Those links are just people saying how their website uses CSS standards or has RSS Feeds. They are completely unnecessary and with the CSS one is really just a designer patting himself on the back.

ordinary_guy
05-04-2005, 10:26 PM
Just what I know about website made on CSS standards, it only makes page loading a little bit faster.

Just ignore it for the meantime.

James
05-05-2005, 07:57 AM
Just what I know about website made on CSS standards, it only makes page loading a little bit faster.

Just ignore it for the meantime.
Don't spread this filth.

No listening to this guy, it makes your page accessable, smaller and quicker-loading, printable without an external page that changes your layout, simple to change the look of, easier for search engines to crawl, makes the site a better for screenreaders, allows better search engine optimization because you're able to do things like choose whether your navigation or content comes first and header etcetera, it makes image-replacement easy (for better search enigne optimization), it makes mouseovers in images easier and quicker-loading, it makes you able to do things like have the mouseovers on links that changes their colors...

Hell there are too many advantages for me to list here http://www.google.ca/search?q=why+use+css

chromate
05-05-2005, 09:47 AM
Well, there's a difference between using CSS and standards compliant CSS. I think that was the main point.

To be honest, I haven't bothered too much trying to comply with the "standards" stuff at all. In fact, my code is pretty bad :)

James
05-05-2005, 08:18 PM