PDA

View Full Version : AWS4 and BrowseNodeLookup



r2d2
01-26-2005, 04:46 PM
Im developing an AWS4 site for the US, and am planning on using the BrowseNodeLookup search to return all of the nodes child nodes, then an ItemSearch with the same nodeid to return 10 of the products in that node. Does anyone else do this?

I was concerned about the 1 query a second thing. Obviously two queries for one page is probably going to be within 1 second.

What does everyone else do?

Chris
01-26-2005, 06:54 PM
Maybe store nodes locally and run a cron job nightly to look them up?

moonshield
01-26-2005, 06:58 PM
how does one go about doing that? Storing them locally?

Chris
01-26-2005, 08:26 PM
Make a database.

r2d2
01-27-2005, 01:29 AM
Yes, that would be a good way to go - I'll see if I can code something up over the weekend.

Blue Cat Buxton
01-27-2005, 09:18 AM
Ive ben thinking about how this works. Here is my logic

You do a call to Amazon then wait a second, and get the next chunk of data. You gat no more than 60 results a minute, 3600 per hour.

Each browse node can return say 100 pages each (on average) with 10 results, that is 100+ !00x10 for the data on each product.

xsay 10 products thats like 3 hours plus worth of requests to Amazon, to fill up the database.

Am I on track so far?

So do you need like 2 databases and swap them over, so one is always available whilst the other is being filled up?

Just trying to understand the process (ill think about the coding later!).

r2d2
01-27-2005, 11:53 AM
What I meant was just for listing the child nodes of a node - not products at all. Still a lot of calls though.

Blue Cat Buxton
01-27-2005, 12:05 PM
Ah ok, not quite so bad then

I haven't really looked at node lookup; Do the nodes change often enough to warrent a once a day lookup?

moonshield
01-27-2005, 01:35 PM
do I have to worry if using the system on this site?

Blue Cat Buxton
01-27-2005, 01:42 PM
Not is you are using cacheing