PDA

View Full Version : coding a game

Shade
11-23-2004, 04:10 PM
what programing languages can you use to write basic games such as a small RPG or what not. I don't know flash, though that seems to be a very popular way to write. I know c++, and thus i'm familuar with javascript's style, and am learning the calls and what not.

Any idea's comments or suggestions are welcome. I preferably would like to avoid heavy bandwidth problems, though i can always buy more.

r2d2
11-23-2004, 04:32 PM
You mean a web based RPG? If so, I would think Flash would be the way to go, otherwise why not c++? Especially as you already know it.

Xander
11-23-2004, 04:43 PM
Its dependant on what platform you want to play it on and what you have available. There are a lot of php online games but perhaps flash is better suited, it all depends.

Shade
11-23-2004, 05:14 PM
I have no clue on how to intigrate html and c++. I'm rather new at this and only know html and a bit of java in reguards to web based stuff. I was hoping to have it play on a html browser or a pop up.

Basicly for the anime site i would want it pop up, though the games most likley would be rather simplistic. For another site i would want it more html.

thanks,

Emancipator
11-23-2004, 06:03 PM
i am doing a very elaborate RPG in php, enjoying it. But it has its limitations.

moonshield
11-23-2004, 06:23 PM
really? PHP? No, learn Java, the syntax is near C++ (I guess) and it would not be very difficult for a good programmer to learn.

C#, Works with .Net.

Chris
11-23-2004, 07:17 PM
If you mean a browser driven turn based game then any language will work, but its easy for these games to grow quickly and so make sure your code is efficient and your server powerful (or that you can easily port it to a new server).

If you mean a MUD then thats different.

AndyH
11-23-2004, 09:02 PM
PHP/MySQL
Optimize every table
Optimize queries
Don't use an image intense layout

Emancipator
11-24-2004, 05:54 AM